We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacareto Da Lele

Bacareto Da Lele
Campo dei Tolentini 183 - Santa Croce, Venice, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,209 restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Very small cafe. Doubt it has a website.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a great little bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Cheap rolls that tasted great, friendly guys running it and glasses of pressecco for 90cents. Stand outside or sit on the church steps and enjoy a piece of real venice!


Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    476
    112
    25
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Workmans cafe -Venice style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This tiny place was full of smelly older Italian men, like the equivilent of our greasy spoon cafes. Unnerving for a young lady like me but the experience was good.

Yes the drinks are cheap, merlot 60cents, presecco 80cents

BUT the servings are maybe 100ml maximum! So you need a few of them.

The crusty rolls with parma ham, salami etc are nice but quite small so again, you need 2 or 3.

The best part of this place is that there is a long stretch of steps down to the canal where you can sit in the sun and eat. We saw a bride and groom go by in a gondola so it was a great atmosphere

Give it a try if you're interested in local cultures

The salami made my fiance very sick but I was fine. Maybe best avoided by the elderly or by pregnant ladies

Nice and polite staff

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must hangout there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Best bite, best wine, best price, best place to eat on the street. Station for mostly local students, youngsters and artistas. Get your bites and wines, hang out by the canal. Enjoy the view and check the people around. This is a real place for real people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cheap but good quality fuel stop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had noted this from TripAdvisor & it was just a few minutes from our hotel. We looked in every day on our way back from a days exploring for a quick drink & mini sandwich. As previously stated, sarnie & 2 drinks e3. Have to say the sarnies are excellent - small but crusty bread absolutely packed with really good quality pork, salami, other stuff. Just pick from the selection available.
Very friendly, always a nice crowd - stand or sit on the canal steps.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a B&B 2 mins from here and stopped in several times.The owner even began to recognise us!
This is a fantastic little bar for a glass of wine and a quick snack perched on the steps of the canal.
In such an expensive city it was a treat to have this nearby!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacareto Da Lele also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Bacareto Da Lele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacareto Da Lele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.