We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Venice experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Badoer Dei Barbacani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ca' Badoer Dei Barbacani
Save
You added Ca' Badoer Dei Barbacani to your Saves list
Rio Tera S. Toma 2548 | Sestiere Di San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Venice
brln
1 review
“The real Venice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Ca Badoer is an imposing historic palazzo right next to the famous Frari Cathedral, nevertheless it's a lovely, rather non-touristic neighborhood and extraordinarily well located with the train station and Piazzale Roma parking center just in 10 minutes reach.

I stayed in the beautiful 'South Studio' on the second floor and never had such an authentic, (especially for Venice extremely) spacious accomodition in this city, where I had been a couple of times before. The apartment has got spectatcular high ceilings with original beams and is furnished tastefully in proper style, while offering all the comfort you'd need for a shorter or longer vacation, including a fully equipped bathroom with washing machine and a small kitchen. I should add that I stayed there in December and the apartment was perfectly well heated which is not self-evident in a building that is partly over 500 years old.

The housemanager Mr. Zazzetta is very friendly and supportive and the rates for the appartments are outstandingly reasonable for a city like Venice.
I would recommend Ca Badoer to everyone who is looking for the real Venice experience, the one you gather from novels, films and songs and often find highly disappointed by tiny tourist rip-off hotels and overcrowded neighbourhoods without locals and authenticity.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Located by the Frari church,this is in a great location. Not touristy yet close to the train and to the vaperetto stops. Once i knew my way, 8 mins to the train station and 5 mins to the vaperetto stop San Stae.5 mins to the nearest supermarket and maybe 6-7 mins to Rialto Bridge/markets etc. Apartment has wonderful views and is quiet and non touristy. Lovely room, large and spacious, separate kitchen and bathroom and little hallway.Cant say enough good things. Reasonably priced for Venice as well. We will definetly be back when we return :) Nice and warm and lots of hot water..........Bliss. Many thanks.

Room Tip: I would say all their apartments would be wonderful and great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

This apartment was one of the best finds on our trip to Europe. Overall, it was clean, spacious, well equipped and centrally located. The kitchen, while small, was easy to cook in and very well stocked with pots, pans, and utensils. The bed was comfortable for two, and the bedroom/dining room area is large and airy. The bathroom was the largest of the three apartments we stayed in, though the shower was small. The apartment is only a few minutes’ walk from almost anywhere in Venice, and the nearby traghetto stop makes getting across the Grand Canal a snap. Upon arrival we were given an overview of shops and restaurants in the area. A nice market with a good selection of fresh food and wine is located just down the street. The apartment is in a quiet neighborhood located next to the Frari Church (which is a must see in my book). You can hear the bells of the local churches, but they are not overwhelming. The only noise issue we had was from other guests. And to top it all off, this was the least expensive apartment of the trip! In fact, it cost less per night than most hotels located on islands off Venice proper. When I get the chance to return to Venice, this will be my first choice for accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorges, Normandy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We loved this apartment- located right next to the Frari Church in the heart of the San Polo Area- close walking to everything We were traveling with our 19 year old grand-daughter- apartment had a huge bedroom and a fold out couch/bed in the living room that worked for heard- good directions for all the appliances and a washing machine which was great. Fairly quiet since a little off the beaten trail and around the corner from meeting areas. We loved it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights in this authentic Venetian apartment and loved everything about it from it's location (close to Frari church, a 15 min. walk from the train station, and 5 mins. from the vaporetto) to the chance to do our laundry in a washing machine! Ketty was extremely welcoming and very helpful in pointing out restaurants, grocery store, and in showing us where we could hang our laundry out to dry, just asl the locals do. Pietro, her partner, has prepared a very thorough guide to the apartment and how the applicances work. Our apartment was very clean and well appointed with everything we needed to cook our own meals if we chose to do so. We even had a shelf of novels, written in English, and travel guides to enhance our stay in Venice and our other travels in Italy. I can't wait to go back and stay at Ketty and Pietro's apartments again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' Badoer Dei Barbacani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Badoer Dei Barbacani

Address: Rio Tera S. Toma 2548 | Sestiere Di San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday apartments in a medieval "Palazzetto", Venice downtown ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Badoer Dei Barbacani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.