We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Raffaele

Da Raffaele
S. Marco, 2347, 30124 Venice, Italy
41 5289940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #490 of 1,198 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Mostly the location, but food was good too. Can't beat sitting outside at the canal, with gondoliers passing by! Try mix of apps and a pasta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    134
    75
    31
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went on the recommendations in the reviews I read - it was terrible - love Turbot and was looking forward to having some - it came up luke warm and tough - its a delicate fish and should just fall off when touch it was tough!! the capers and olives did nothing for it and the lemon sauce drowned it - we did not stay for desert !! the staff was hardly around and very unattentive !! not a warm atmosphere

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“nice place - regular food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had lunch sunday, 5th may. Super locoation. Food good quality.
Be careful: They charge 12%Service and a cover-charge of 3 Euro p.P.
You will enjoy if you take that in account before deciding

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good views, amazing vista”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We found this restaurant by chance whilst on a gondola trip around the canals and thought it would make a nice setting for somewhere to eat in the evening. The canalside views are beautiful and the service was good. The food was slightly disappointing only in that the prices weren't justified by the portions but it was nonetheless very nice. We had the garlic spaghetti and spaghetti bolognese with a bottle of the pinot grigio. For dessert we had the ice cream with mixed liquers (be warned - VERY alcoholic but delicious) and the mixed cheese. Overall this was a very nice experience and I would recommend it if you're in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weems, VA
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

On our second night in the San Marco Venice area, we were tired of walking so went around the corner of our hotel to this gem. We dined early and were seat promptly but not in a particularly good spot which seemed strange because the entire restaurant was almost empty. But there was a nice fire going on a chilly evening and the atmosphere was nice. However, I had one of the top ten meals of my life time here - the tubot with capers, lemons and olives was to die for - just exquisite. Service diminished a bit as the restaurant got more crowded, but this is one place you don't want to miss. Also outside dining on the canal available, but was too chilly this trip. Outstanding.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Raffaele also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Da Raffaele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Raffaele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.