We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED Gio & Gio!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast
San Marco, 2439 | Calle de le Ostreghe, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Central New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“LOVED Gio & Gio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Gio & Gio during the final days of our big 5yr anniversary trip to Europe. Venice is amazing and it was so nice to have real keys to a "home away from home" during our stay! We felt like we lived there. Beautifully decorated. We were in Room #3 (best room) with a view of a lovely canal. Gondoliers would ride by singing and ahhh, the sounds of Venice wafted through the air. The bed was comfortable and the A/C worked fine. We had our own private bathroom (very clean, nice & comfortable- hot water no problem!) , a table and chairs in our private room outfitted with all sorts of snacks, teas etc which was great for breakfast before leaving the house in the morning. Access to the kitchen which was stocked with water and juices for our pleasure, we made coffee each morning and enjoyed the use of wine glasses for our evening glasses of merlot. The living room had tons of books and magazines, CD player with CDs of all genres of music.

Gianni and Ivan couldnt have been nicer!!! THANK YOU GIANNI! We were so impressed with the fact that you spoke so many languages!

I read a review about THE SMELL? OMG, we loved the smell!!! It was like gardenia, wow, just enhanced the experience of staying in our own authentic Venetian residence! There was another couple there visiting (very nice! glad to have met them!), our paths barely crossed. We felt like the house was ours.

The location? CANNOT BE BEAT! So close to St. Marks, close to Rialto, close to the Accademia Bridge, close to transportation.

Take a trip to Lido and go to the beach! We did and loved it!

When I first found this B&B on Trip Advisor there were NO reviews written in English. I translated the other reviews and based on the glowing praise, booked our stay. NO REGRETS, would stay again and recommend! So glad to add my review now to the other English reviews, LOL!

IN A WORD: GO!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

The B&B is very nice, clean and well decorated in a great location the mixed feeling are for several reasons, first the apartment smelled very very bad, the matress in our room seemed very wore out and made a lot of noise leaving us very sore and tired in the morning. The apartment smelled so bad that I could not sit in there, the room did not smell as much and it was tollerable. The other gests staying there also commented to us about the smell but their room had a table and chairs so they were able to take their food in their room and eat, we did not have a table in our room. Second the room did not have working a/c and we were told to open the windows wich we did both for the air circulation and to help with the smell but it left us both covered in bug bites. The room was a comfortable temperature at night even with the windows closed. So the place is very nice and in a good location if you can live with all the other issues.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giogiove, Proprietario at Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Dear Guest,
we appreciate the fact that he stated from the beginning the cleaning of the home, which we care particulary, and we wanted to respond only to clarify at which "bad" smell was referring.
The smell in question came in fact, from some home scents that would normally we leave in the living room, in our view to make pleasant smell but clearly not acceptable to all.
We are genuinely sorry, but this helps us to understand how to improve always.
As for the quality of sleep, we assure you that the mattress is new, we think that the discomfort could was been in the bed structure, original '800, with some can crunch that we will verify immediately.
Regarding air conditioning, fully functional and controlled individually, perhaps there was misunderstanding. In those days, the first of the hot season, we were providing to verification of the plant, that was made operational shortly thereafter.
Sincerely,
giò
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Gianni and Ivan welcomed us to their beautiful bed and breakfast very near St. Mark's Square. Wonderful decor, very clean, fabulous breakfast, quiet area. We had access to the living room and kitchen along with our 2 bedrooms with baths. Very close to vapporetto stop and easy access from the train station!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

The place is amazing...... you feel at home the first minute you get in. The apt is beautiful, very clean and very well decorated (excellent taste!). The apt is well located, a few minutes walk to Piazza San Marcos, has a vaporetto station right around the corner. It is a quite place, in a charming quarter. It is worth ist value. We really enjoyed being there and next time we are in Venice we would like to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Perfect situated just to the west of St. Mark's square with views on one of the many canals. Impeccably clean and tastefully decorated rooms with wifi. The owners are knowledgeable , helpful and more than happy to assist in making any reservations.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

This place was the highlight of out Italy vacation. We couldn't have picked a better location, everything is within walking distance and the boatbus picks up 3minutes away from the B&B. Gio was very helpful on where to eat and the rooms are beautiful! The pictures really can't do this place justice....My family and I plan on returning next year so we can spend more time here. Trust me 5 day minimum to be able to see everything and really relax and enjoy the gondoliers singing outside your bedroom...Perfection!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast

Address: San Marco, 2439 | Calle de le Ostreghe, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our b & b is located in the heart of Venice, close to Piazza San Marco and Fenice Theater, in a ancient building on the first floor with private entrance who overlooks on canal de le Ostreghe, nearby of Grand Canal, where it's possible to see many gondolas and gondoliers singing, It has three comfortable bedrooms all with ensuite bathroom, tastefully decorated, one of this with seating area, windows and a small balcony who overlooks on the canal. The guests share a cozy and large lounge where you can spend moments of relaxation and the kitchen for the continental breakfast prepared with croissant, jam, biscuits, cereals, coffee, tea, milk, juice and yogurt, also available to guests throughout the day. In the Junior Suite that overlooks on the canal, breakfast is prepared on the table inside the room. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and heating, bed linen and towels. In the bathroom the hair dryer is available. Breakfast and daily maid service included. Free wi-fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gio & Gio Hotel Venice
Gio & Gio b&b
Gio And Gio Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gio & Gio Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.