We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST ICECREAM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Boutique del Gelato

La Boutique del Gelato
Salizzada S. Lio 5727, Venice, Italy (Castello)
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 50 Ice Cream in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch
Neighborhood: Castello
Description: Telephone: 041 5223283
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST ICECREAM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Ofcourse i am not a gourmet and it is impposible for me to stop and taste every gelateria in Venice. But i have a taste of quality, and for me this place is one of the bests in Italy. I can not forget the taste of the combo i had; vanilla, melon and lemon. They were all super tasty. And it was indeed too chear; 3 scoops 2,5 €. Here the icecream is a bit creamy than normal, so it is better to sit down somewhere and enjoy it until the first drop. However unlike the icecream quality, the person behind the counter was very cold and unfriendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    37
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sendai, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best gelato in Venice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I loved the Straciatella and Chocolate combo. And cheap, too! My wife liked the lemonade slushies. We made almost daily visits to La Boutique.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Went to Boutique del Gelato today in Venice. Have to say that its not very good. I have had a lot of gelato traveling in Italy and this place is average or even below average. Grom is a lot better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have eaten the most delicious gelato in this store in Italy. You can not find this taste in Rome or Florence. Shouldnt miss that!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The server was rude, the scoops tiny (some not even a full scoop) and the selection was poor (8 flavors at most). We decided to give it a try anyways, but we really were disappointed. Around the next corner we came upon Gelatoteca Suso where we had a second go at a satisfactory gelato experience. This time we were not let down - Gelatoteca had a wide selection of flavors: Both traditional ones like pistachio and vanilla, but also more exotic ones like rich dark chocolate (like the night) and crema di doge. Do yourself a favor and go to Gelatoteca Susan instead of La Boutique del Gelato - you really won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boutique del Gelato also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Boutique del Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Boutique del Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.