We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aqua Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de la Malvasia 5492, Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Nyon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Very nice and perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and we highly enjoyed our stay. Our junior suite was spacious and comfortable. The room had good air conditioned that worked well too. We enjoyed the sleep quality as well, I had read some reviews saying that there was some noise outside but frankly I slept great and had no issues with noise whatsoever.
Staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good, with friendly waitress too, very kind.
The luggage man is also very kind and helpful.

What the hotel could enhance :

- add a coffee / tea machine in the rooms, at the very least in the junior suites. Any hotel has these nowadays and I was surprised not to find one.

- the shower has a very short glass wall and you have to be extra careful not to wet all the floor, which is nearly impossible. It would be good to make them larger so that it makes it easier to shower.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Venise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    139
    23
    0
    1
See reviews for
133
445
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I needed a guaranteed good night's sleep after 3 nights in 3 different countries, so was lucky to find Aqua Palace on a late avail search- one room left.
On foot, the simplest way to find the place is via the Calle Specchieri San Marco tucked right at the back right hand side as your face the square from the bay behind the cathedral. Just head straight all the way up until you reach the junction and then turn right and it's the building across the small bridge.
If I'd have known that, might have saved me 40 mins! Saw that many guests used water taxi- hotel has landing bay.

Staff couldn't have been more helpful on arrival, and once I got into my room, I knew I'd made the right choice. Beautiful spacious room, great stylish bathroom, and super comfortable bed.
Needless to say, had a wonderful 8 hours sleep, ready for the chaos of Venice the next day.

Certainly not the cheapest place to stay in Venice, but as the adage goes, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in May. Hotel is in a great location between Rialto bridge and St Mark's Square. As we had our 22 year old daughter with us we stayed in a suite witch was very nice. Huge bedroom and separate lounge area which was made into the second bedroom. Bathroom was beautiful, Italian white marble very large.
What makes this hotel so good are the staff. Very helpful, greeted us by name each time we passed reception. Hotel arranged water taxis for us from airport.
Venice is a beautiful city but very expensive. Gondolier ride was €80 for 30 minutes. Water taxi from airport to hotel was €150 Expect to pay London prices for meals and drinks.
Loved our visit and we made the correct choice with the Aqua Palace.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

A very fine hotel in a quiet location. It is a few minutes walk to St Mark's - where you can cheerfully squeeze your way past lots of tourists taking pictures of each other - and a few minutes in the other direction to the Rialto bridge.
My guess is that if you're in the market for a hotel like this, you will be more interested in the areas away from St Mark's. Venice is such an improbable and amazing city and has so much more to do and see than St Marks. The hotel itself is on a quiet canal and some of the rooms look directly onto it. We had a view of the canal, which can be noisy first thing in the morning when the small barges come to collect the rubbish (everything in Venice happens by canal, even rubbish collection, ambulances and police chases). We weren't bothered by the noise as it's part of the charm and they came around 8.30 but it's worth bearing in mind when you think about a room with a view.
The suite itself was very big and very tastefully decorated. Clearly a lot of thought has gone into the finer touches. The double bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom was bigger than most bedrooms and there was plenty of wardrobe space.
The breakfast room is small but there was always a table for us when we went down. The fruit juice is delicious and fresh and there's a good selection of cereal, bread, fruit, eggs and bacon. The lady who serves breakfast can be a bit slow, especially if she manages to drag someone else into a conversation, but this is all part of the charm.
If you do stay here - and I would certainly go back - then ignore the hotel's directions which are about as useful as saying 'wander around till you find it.' It is near the Hotel Canaletto, which is better signposted. Check directions on their website, then the Aqua Palace is 50m past that on the other side of the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Aqua Palace Hotel, and we loved it.

We stayed in Room 101 (a junior suite). The room was clean, quiet, spacious, and well-appointed. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone.

Breakfast was a simple but excellent buffet. My wife and I especially appreciated the efforts of the woman who made us cappuccinos every morning. She was very kind and personable.

We only rated two categories 4/5 stars, but these are really nit-picky observations, not complaints:
- Value: (4/5 stars) This is not a cheap hotel, but the quality was very good for the price
- Sleep quality: (4/5 stars) Air conditioning was relatively loud, we would have liked more pillows, and the mattress was two twin beds pushed together rather than a large, single mattress (this is common in Europe)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were initially allocated a ground floor room looking onto the canal, but I prefer a quieter room so we asked to be moved. Although the hotel was very busy they kindly moved us to a top floor room. It did not have a canal view but that really wasnt important to us. It was light, spacious and very comfortable with an enormous bed and lots of storage. Skylight windows added to the light airy feel and airconditioning worked very well.
Breakfast was excellent and the very friendly ladies were a joy. they made us feel so welcome.
The receptionist organised a private walking tour of that part of the city, which wasnt cheap (Euro 130) but was excellent value as we saw many places you otherwise wouldnt see and we heard a lot about the history of Venice.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room or a lie-in, dont book a canal view as the rubbish barges can wake you earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We really enjoyed staying at Aqua Palace in Venice. The location is great! Water taxi can directly go to the entrance of the hotel, and it's like 2 minutes walk to St Mark's Square, 5-7 minute walk to Rialto Bridge....1 minute walk to shopping district. Stuff were very attentive, we were greeted every time we were in/out of hotel, Hotel room is quite clean, spacious, bathroom has very modern feel. It was quite at night and each room has air-conditioning. I personally loved the big marble shower. Breakfast was also excellent. Fruits, pastries, cheese/meats, toast, and even bacon and eggs. It was all very flesh each morning.
It might be a little difficult to find a hotel...well but it's hard to read map in Venice anyway. We got the hang of it pretty quick, just found the way to St Mark's and few turn from there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492, Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.