We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in the Venice center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Aqua Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de la Malvasia 5492, Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in the Venice center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been several times in Venice , but this time decided to spend a night there. This hotel is ranked quite high on tripadvisor and it is definitely true. The hotel is located in the Venice center, it takes about 10 min by foot to get to San Marco. From the parking you can reach the hotel by boat taxi, the price is 70-80 Euro per boat, it takes about 20 minutes - enough to have a glass of Lambrusco on the way:)) We booked a double room but surprisingly had an upgrade to a suite, although a hotel was fully booked. Definitely recommend it and will stay there next time!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    183
    29
    2
    1
See reviews for
167
567
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Aqua Palace Hotel was the best hotel my G/F and I stayed in during our 3 week trip through Italy. We stayed in the Jr. Suite and it was class all the way. The decor, furnishings and roominess were all top notch. The motif of the room can best be described as traditional with a modern flair. The bed was quite comfortable and the bathroom was large with a terrific marble walk-in shower. The hotel is a bit hard to find but is located in the perfect spot, quiet yet within a short walking distance to all the shopping and sights. The staff was very gracious and helpful, and a special nod to the efficient and friendly breakfast lady. We travel quite a bit and Aqua Palace ranks as one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Congratulations on an excellent property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We traveled to Venice at the end of November and had a great stay at the Aqua Palace. The room was clean- bed and furnishings are pretty new and the bathroom was spotless and looked brand new as well. The location was a 5 minute walk to the Rialto and about the same to San Marco once you found the right street! Despite this the location was very quiet and felt out of the way even in the heart of everything. We stayed in the cheapest room in the inn, so were next to the elevator. You could faintly hear it in our room, but it did not bother us and the room was still a great size, especially for a city hotel. The other rooms looked huge and would likely warrant the full 5 star rating. Breakfast was also great- yogurt, cereal, pastries, eggs, everything fresh and plenty to satisfy even my 6 month pregnant appetite. The front desk and wait staff (especially the waitress at breakfast!) were attentive and nice. One tip: Look up the directions before you arrive in Venice if you plan to come by train. It is really close to the Rialto Vapporetto stop, but the street is not on all the maps and there is another street with the same name all the way up north in Cannereggio. I've been to Venice a few times before and was confused, so first-timers should definitely get directions from the hotel and bring a good map, which is an essential in Venice at all times anyway. In sum, I would definitely come back to Aqua Palace and highly recommend it. Well maintained, spacious hotels in great locations in Venice are hard to find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from Venice for a short break and enjoyed my stay very much. The staff were friendly, helpful and very polite. Rooms were excellent and cleaned every day. One of the best 4star's I have stayed in.

W arrived By Water taxi, 95euro (private boat) from the airport but returned on the water bus / vaporetti ferries 14 euro from the Rialto bridge, was much cheaper but less cool.

I would eat lunch at the stand up bars in the city much cheaper than a restaurant and the food can be better. Some great restaurants in Venice, the guide books are pretty accurate in their recommendations.

Good for couples, sightseers. Not so good for party or young family's

Enjoy

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just completed a stay at the Aqua Palace and could not have been happier with the location, service, breakfast selection, room, bathroom or service. No real complaints except somehting that is outside of the control of the hotel, and that is the garbage collection by the City of Venice. It seems like they are outside the hotel every morning somewhat early as the property is right on the canal. They can be a little loud, although they seem to try to not be.
FYI, we had a Junior Suite which was ample. I did not see the regular rooms so I cannot opine on them.
Silvia in the breakfast area is charming and very endearing and remembered our names after the first day. Little things like this make a huge difference.
Front desk very helpful with dinner reservations and recommendations, as well as arranging transportation for us. I could not have been happier with the hotel, which is not the same I can say for Venice....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is very well located and the accommodation was good, The breakfast is very good. We were disapointted with the frontdesk staff. One of the attendants told us that the Gondola service would cost 100 Euros. When we were in the street we fpound a gondola in froint of the hotel and the men told us it would cost us 80 Euros. Therefore, probably the frontdesk would gain something if we booked it with the hotel. Be careful with this. Venezia is wonderful... Very romantic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My adult daughter and I visited Venice in November 2012 and stayed for three nights at the Aqua Palace hotel. The Aqua Palace is a relatively new four star hotel in Castello, one of the oldest quarters in Venice.

We booked our stay online through the hotel's website which was very easy and straightforward. The communication via email was very well written, helpful and polite.

The hotel is perfectly located within a few minutes walk to the Rialto bridge, St Marks square and the vaperatto, yet tucked away from the noisy streets. The hotel is beautifully furnished and immaculate. We had a very large room on the ground floor that was well presented, with an en suite and was immaculate and very clean. Our bedroom window looked out to the canal by our window.

Additionally, extras included free Wi-Fi which was a real bonus.

The staff were extremely helpful, knowledgeable and polite. On the day we were leaving we got caught up in the floods and had trouble leaving the hotel to get to the airport. The hotel arranged a porter to wrap our suitcases in plastic and carry them and the hire of boots to walk through the floodwater. Other tourists had garbage bags tied over their shoes and carried their own suitcases which were soaked!

Since returning home we contacted the hotel for documentation and confirmation re the floods for our insurance claims and they responded immediately with all necessary information.
I cannot praise the hotel enough and I intend going back to Venice with my husband and will be staying at the Aqua Palace hotel.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was perfect - did not check any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#25 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#18 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Reali
Hotel Ai Reali
#24 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492, Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.