We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for our first trip to Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aqua Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de la Malvasia 5492, Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 382 hotels in Venice
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place for our first trip to Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We used trip advisor to pick this hotel for a long weekend and were not disappointed. Centrally placed between Rialto Bridge and San Marco it was easy to get to pretty much anywhere from this location. The staff were helpful and welcoming, particularly Sylvia at breakfast. Room clean and comfortable although smaller than photos suggested.

Room Tip: Easy to get to everywhere from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    133
    23
    0
    1
See reviews for
123
429
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whittlebury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend. Great location (although the water levels were high at the time and the taxis would not bring us all the way - difficult to find on foot first time). Staff brilliant especially at on reception and at breakfast and always had a smile. Room clean and spacious but not as large as some reviews suggest but good views of canals. We would definitely stay again. Bed REALLY comfortable

Room Tip: We were upgraded from a Junion Suite to a room with a Canal View. Room was probably smaller but view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is very close to Rilto Bridge and the Piazza San Marco. We really enjoyed staying at this calm, clean hotel with very helpful & warm staff. We took a water taxi to Rialto bridge and then were on foot. It was a little difficult to find the hotel first but later we found that it is very centreally located. I would like to reccomend this hotel to all visiting Venice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, which is very close to both San Marco and the Rialto Bridge. It seems, at first, to be difficult to find but in fact it's very easy to get to both destinations. That said, we did take a water taxi from the train station rather than trying to find it on foot with cases. Going back, we had no trouble taking our luggage to the Vaporetto stop at Rialto. In the hotel, we were given a disabled room right by the front door and it was lovely, if a little dark. Everyone was very pleasant and the hotel looks very good both inside and outside.

Room Tip: Probably better not to have the disabled room if you don't need it because it is dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourock
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Arrived in Venice form Rome by train and followed the directions on our booking form exactly, which landed us right at the door of this beautiful place. We were warmly welcomed at the reception desk and and given a junior suite with a canal view. Our room was spacious, clean and so quiet, we felt as if we were the only people there. The view from our room looked magical in the evening light and it was a pleasure to awake to the hustle of people on the footbridges below our window. Come morning we descended to the breakfast room amongst the chatter of other guests who were enjoying the superb breakfast which included wide choices of fruit, bread as well as cooked food, eggs, bacon, sausages and everything in between. We were welcomed by Sylvia who couldn't have been more helpful. She went to great lengths to make us feel right at home and showed a genuine interest in our welfare and where we had come from. We would most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suit with canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here over a weekend as a birthday trip and what a great present! Great location, just a few minutes from San Marco and the Rialto Bridge (if you don't get lost). Our room and spacious and clean, with a beautiful view over the canal. The breakfasts were excellent, with one of the nicest waitresses we've ever come across. I mentioned we were there for my birthday and when we came back to our room in the evening, there was a lovely box of macaroons and biscuits with a little note, wishing me happy birthday. The staff were also very helpful. Great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very nice hotel with great location, friendly staff and great breakfast. Room (junior suite) was modern and quite large with nice sized bathroom and good storage space and overlooked smaller canal. Price was pretty expensive but if we’d booked earlier, I pricing would have been much better.

Two tips: (1) If first trip to Venice and you have fair amount of luggage, take a private water taxi from the airport to the hotel. Instead of doing so, we took the Alilaguna that dropped us at the Rialto Bridge, which is only 5 min or so from the hotel. However, with this being our first trip to Venice and the streets being confusing to say the least, we got all turned around walked ended up being over 20 min., and lugging luggage over a couple of bridges was not fun particularly after long day of flying from the US.

(2) Leaving Venice, we took a private taxi from the hotel to the train station – which while expensive (50 euros) was a great way to go – fast and easy. At the train station, I’d read that, if you have a lot of luggage, you should enter to the right of the station and walk down a ramp as opposed to going in to the station proper which meant there were stairs to deal with. This was great as it was easy to navigate and actually dropped us down where the platforms were for the trains and avoided the hustle and bustle of the station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492, Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.