We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Venice, Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aqua Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de la Malvasia 5492, Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Sebastopol, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in Venice, Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

After landing by air from Paris, we followed the signs to the water taxi waiting area; there we found our cabin-cruiser taxi and the adventure began. We began on open waters and after a fifteen minute cruise the city of Venice was in sight. The city has no automobiles and was built for water transportation. The time maneuvering the passageways to the Aqua Palace took as much time as the trip from the airport, but it was worth it. We were greeted at the hotel from the water way by a porter that made the heavy luggage disappear; check-in was effortless with a most mannered gentleman at the main desk. He insured everything was right and that we were at his service, which we tested by asking for directions and eateries to carry out the day.
Once in the room we were amazed to see that our room, as most others, overlooked a canal with water taxi drivers and tourists bantering about as they scraped the walls of history.
The food, service, location, cleanliness, and general mood of the entire staff made our three day stay in Venice most enjoyable. When I go back the only place I would put my trust for the experience that I am looking for is to stay at the Aqua Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    139
    23
    0
    1
See reviews for
133
445
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice spacious suite, well appointed. Everything good. Staff very good - friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast included. On a side canal - only 5 minutes walk from St. Mark's Square. Easy walk to Rialto, etc. would definitely stay here again. But make sure you have a private water taxi from train station or airport - too difficult hauling suitcases from the vaporetto stop. Lots of excellent places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Renovation construction going on across the narrow canal - but noise only at civilized hours. Our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Small but great.
Room service a let down but apart from that the staff were friendly helpful, rooms great size and well furnished.
Location is perfect for Venice as you are in between Rialto Bridge and St Marks. So off the main drag but very close to both.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This Hotel , was a real treat .. a bit hard to find along the winding , zig zag sidewalks, but we did and are very happy with this wonderful hotel. Everything is first class, yet understated . We were taken to a small patio on the canal where we could enjoy a glass of wine and watch the gondolas go by . Breakfast is perfect and so are the staff. This will be our hotel of choice in the future.

Note; If the tide is high, larger taxi boats from the airport can not take you to the hotel . Ask the hotel to book a taxi that can make it under the small bridges at high tide.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west bloomfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

great hotel in a perfect location half way between the Rialto Bridge and the Square.
Clean, roomy, comfortable rooms and brand new bathrooms. Lovely breakfast. Would definitely stay here again. Perfect for adults and children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our fourth trip to Venice and we decided to try to stay in a quiet area away from the Grand Canal. Based on Tripadvisor reviews we booked into the Aqua Palace. We weren't disappointed.

The hotel is on a quiet back canal so getting there by water taxi from the airport or ship terminal is a breeze. When we checked I we were informed that we had been upgraded to a junior suite overlooking the canal. The room was large and clean. The bed was very comfortable. And the marble bath (with two sinks!) was an added bonus. Breakfast was delicious -- especially the freshly baked croissants and the friendly service in the breakfast room really made it a pleasant time. The front desk staff was very helpful in making dinner reservations.

And as an added bonus, it really is ONLY a five minute walk from both the Rialto and St. Marks. Location, location, location. We really recommend the Aqua Palace to anyone coming to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel was outstanding in all respects. I will never forget the magic feeling of sitting on the little terrace and watching the gondolas go by, or the amazed look on people's faces as the walked across the canal from our terrace by the waterside.
Sylvie, you give guests the best start to their day with a wonderful selection of breakfast food and drinks, but especially your quiet, warm personality, caring for each guest's needs as if we were staying in your home.
Georges, Gabriel and the staff at Concierge nd Housekeeping gave top star service.
This hotel deserves to go up another notch in its rating. I have travelled in Europe for many years so have had considerable experience in forming these opinions.
I do think that day visitors to this very popular place should pay the daily tax to the city, as we do as overnight guests, as there are so many costs involved in maintaining this unique place.

Room Tip: We were next to a lift and did not have any noise disturbance from the lift. The only noise heard wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492, Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 382 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.