We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to blame for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Aqua Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de la Malvasia 5492, Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sofia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nothing to blame for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We spent 4 relaxing days at Aqua Palace at a junior suite on the second floor. There is really nothing you can blame Aqua Palace for. Very good location (3 mins walk from both San Marco and Rialto), luxuriously decorated rooms, nice bathrooms, elegant common rooms on each floor. Beautiful historic building (Canaletto lived in the building accross the tiny street). Breakfast was nice - high quality food, albeit with limited variety. Good array of dining options nearby.

The area is very busy, as it is close to the two most important attractions, so during daytime we could hear people walking and talking in the street. In the evening and during the night it was very peaceful - I had a great sleep on all nights, which is quite an achievement for me. The garbage collection barges do not start the rattle until 8.30-9.00 in the morning, which is perfectly ok for me.

This is not a splendid grand palazzo, like you would have on the Grand Canal, but still it is one of the upscale places that you can stay at in Venice.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    173
    26
    2
    1
See reviews for
154
535
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel and a great location.The staff were very helpful and professional. Rooms very clean and well appointed. Very comfortable bed and lush linens. Exactly like the photos. We stayed in a junior suite and it was a very large room with a great view of the canal. It was surpringly quiet at night based on the amount foot and water traffic. Close proximity to many sites and cafes and shopping. Free wifi for all your devices. Very romantic! If you are booking this hotel on a site like Venere, be sure to check the hotel's own site before buying. I found the prices much lower on the hotel's site (70 euro lower!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife booked this hotel as a surprise birthday present. We arrived by water taxi from the airport right to the little jetty at the side of the hotel and were in love with it from the very first moment. She had arranged for champagne and strawberries but had to slip out on our arrival as they weren't in the room. I wasn't aware of this as about five minutes later they arrived. On checkout the hotel waived the cost of the champagne because of this, a lovely gesture.

The room was lovely and the location excellent, near enough to St Marks and the Rialto but not swept up by the hordes. What made this hotel stick out from any other we have stayed in was the genuine warmth and friendliness of the staff.

Two tips, a detailed street map in a decent sized scale is essential as you will probably get lost. Also the hotel arranged an hour long water taxi tour of the city which at 140 euros was excellent value compared to the usual rates.

We will definitely return. Although we only stayed two nights our departure was marked with hugs and kisses from the very friendly and charming lady who serves breakfast. Yes Venice can be noisy when the trash barges are doing their work but the alternative would be streets full of rubbish.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Booked this hotel due to reviews on tripadvisor and wasn't disappointed. Boutique style and very friendly. The emails leading up to my visit were promptly answered and helpful. Staff great. Loved the free wifi. Best of all we were close to the Rialto and San Marco plus A million shops and cafes.
On the negative side bedroom was small and with luggage pre cruise a bit of a tight squeeze. But when you spend your days and evenings walking the streets of Venice it was a small inconvenience. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The location first of all is fantastic ideally placed for exploring the sights and you are more then able to reach evreything by foot. The hotel is clean and well kept and the staff are friendly. However... we were there to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and I was also writing a venice travel article. I took my time to pick the hotel using trip advisor as my trusty guide (it's never failed me before)! I was really excited to have booked this hotel but when I arrived I was really dissapointed we were given a ground floor room on arrival right next to the lift which we were advised gets noisy on a night so we requested a change, the reception staff were happy to show us another room on the fourth floor but it was really tiny (even by venitian standards), we were then offered room 206 on the second room and were more then happy to take it! The room was quite small but we were in Venice so it is to be expected. All night long we were kept awake by the lift as our room backed onto it up and down all night! It was so bad my husband went and tried to sleep in the bath at one point. We rang recption in the night and also mentioned this on check out to be told we must be light sleepers! I have travelled extensively all over the world and not encountered this before! There is no real bar area to speak of so after a long day in venice a proper bar area would be useful just to unwind in. The breakfast was good although not enough staff poor lady was the only one and was rushed off her feet. When I returned I read the raving reviews again to discover they all had one thing in common the people had had Junior Suites this obviously makes a difference. I think at £430 for two nights I had paid enough to guarantee a good nights sleep but maybe I am wrong, we stayed in a "classic room". The directions on the hotel website are terrible but I found some good ones off another reviewer on here and they were really useful. I left feeling dissapointed that my time at the Aqua Palace Hotel was not better. I have travelled and wrote about many Italian destinations it's a shame the Aqua Palace didn't live up to the City it's in....

Room Tip: Not 206 or ground floor. If it's in your budget try and get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr-aqua, Direttore at Aqua Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Clients,
we wish to thank you for your review, we always appreciate when our clients share their experience in order to improve our service and quality. We just notice that, even after 3 different room options, you were not so satisfied with your choice, as they didn’t meet your (too high?) expectations.
Just to explain, the first room was offered as an upgrade, as it’s facing the canal, but after you had checked in,you told us that you were afraid it could have been noisy, so we told you that, if you are particularly sensitive about noise, probably the best solution would have been a room on the top floor and not facing the canal.
The room on the top floor was quiet but too small for you, so we offered you a third option on the second floor and this seemed to be the ha ppy ending, but then even this one seemed to be too noisy for you.
Now, we may expect that a client is not completely satisfied with a room, but with 3 different rooms, allow us to say, it goes beyond our efforts! But what is really false and a bit ridiculous it’s claiming that all the positive comments posted by our clients are referred to clients who stayed in Junior Suites. Just a small example, the second review
we ever received, made by a French customer on April 12, 2010, was a five star one and they stayed in…….206!!!
Other false news: the ”poor” lady at the breakfast service is never alone, we always have from 3 to 4 people of our breakfast staff working during the service hours and, even considering that the Aqua Palace has got 24 rooms, we can keep an attentive and satisfying service during the whole morning.
The directions on the hotel website are not so terrible, it can be a bit difficult to find your own way through the tiny streets of Venice, especially if it’s your first time, but we have many clients who confirm us every day that they easily found our hotel following
our instructions on the website, including a pdf printable map.
Best regards
Piergiovanni Scheda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington spa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Location: Fantastic! Half way between St. Marks and the Rialto bridge. Walking distance from all main sites and into 'real' venice. We walked everywhere from the hotel and didnt get a single water taxi. IF you decide to stay elsewhere, i wouldnt recommend being any closer to St. Marks square...its way to touristy and busy. Head to san polo and castello for a more authentic venice expereince.

TIP - invest in a good map (you will be lost without one, litrally!) , the one the hotel provide is not great and doesnt show all the little allys etc. We bought the Pocket 'Rough guide' to Venice which had a fantastic map in and was good for general tourist info.

Rooms: Junior sweet. Only complaint is that it isnt really a suit...more a large room, no seating area. classic Venician style with a modern twist. Beautiful high ceilings and the Canal view rooms are well worth the extra. We had room 104 which was on the first floor and the only one with a little balcony.

TIP - if you can't affort the canal view room, book the normal one and phone up the day before and ask if any are available, we got upgraded for free!

Service - check in was a little slow, but generally they were all helpful.

Food - Breakfast was very nice. good selection and friendly waitress. no lunch/dinner and we didnt try the room service.

Overall value - Venice is a very expensive city and the hotel has a price tag to match. However, in the context of venice i felt this hotel was good value. Aqua palace provided everything we had hoped for on our venice experience.

Room Tip: - if you can't affort the canal view room, book the normal one and phone up the day before and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We travelled to Venice for our honeymoon and we definitely made the right choice staying at aqua palace! It is quite simply superb! We had a fantastic stay!

On arrival we were greeted with champagne that our family had organized for us! We had a canal view room that was known as a ' junior suite' and literally right outside our window was a gondola ride right next to a picturesque bridge! It really is breath taking!

The room was so chic and stylish! Very Venice decor but with a modern twist! The bathroom is huge. Towel were changed daily and the room was spotlessly clean. Fully stocked minibar in the room was useful.

We got a water taxi from Venice train station for 70 euros but so worth it just to get straight there and settled. Its all part of the adventure after all and the water taxis are very exciting to ride!
The hotel organized our water taxi to the airport which has a flat rate of 100 euros and it takes about 25 minutes which was also very exciting as it goes quite fast when they get to the open water!

The staff were very friendly and as we can only speak limited Italian they made up for our short fall and were able to speak fluent English as well as many other languages I noticed! The breakfast was excellent and we can't fault the food. There was a wide range served from continental to full English as well as cake even! ( this went down well with me!)

We quite literally can not fault aqua palace and when we visit Venice in the future we will definitely be staying there. I can it recommend this place enough to you if your considering booking it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the junior suite which had a canal view- most certainly worth it as you get a picturesq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492, Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Splendia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.