We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aqua Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aqua Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de la Malvasia 5492, Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 381 hotels in Venice
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best part of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Beautiful, clean hotel w/friendly staff and perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    124
    23
    0
    1
See reviews for
117
408
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
639 reviews 639 reviews
258 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
1,080 helpful votes 1,080 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We decided for Aqua Palace because of the combination of price (€ 161,00/night via Trivago), Tripadvisor rating and location.

At e 161.00/night in July, including breakfast & Wi-Fi internet there's nothing to complain about. It's a solid 4 star hotel. Of course our room was small (as expected because I've booked the cheapest one) but when in Venice anyway nobody will stay in the room for long. The room was well equipped, the bathroom (marble) very cosy. Staff, especially reception is super-friendly but not fake-friendly.

Best is the location, right in the middle of Rialto Bridge & S. Marco square. If you do have a map you'll find the hotel any time.

Why 4 points and not 5? When I would have paid full price I would expect a slightly bigger room, not just one pillow/person and a better blanket.

Would I stay at Aqua Palace again? At the rate I got: YES!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in the Aqua Palace for our 10th wedding anniversary and we couldn't have made a better choice. The staff were friendly and very helpful, always willing to give you their time to recommend places to go or restaurants to visit. The breakfast was great, a good choice of fresh fruit, cereals and pastries (a hot selection was also available)and the coffee was excellent. The location of the hotel was great, away from the main tourist areas and about half way between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco, though we would definately recommend getting the water taxi as finding it on foot for the first time would be a challenge!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the AP in the end of may. The hotel was definitely a little difficult to find but the adventure was well worth it. We stayed in a Junior suite with canal view which was clean and big for a Venice room. Te bathroom was stunning marble. The best thing about this hotel is the location and pierro the manager. On a quiet little street 5 mins from Rialto and st mArks square the location could not be beat. All types of shopping nearby in all directions. Pierro was so helpful for restaurant and off the beaten tourist suggestions.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I just returned from a glorious trip to this hotel with my husband. I have travelled extensively and especially to Venice and was particularly impressed with this hotel from A-Z

A simple search on the internet brought me to this little gem. A boutique hotel all newly furnished refined Venetian touches especially the fabrics, flowers and little details such as the cushioned seat in the elevator

We stayed in room 304 (probably one of the more expensive rooms) but well worth it. A large comfy bed, two windows overlooking the canal, a beautiful bathroom all in marble. The service was excellent and the quality of everything here' top'.

Lots of closet space, bathrobes and nice toiletries. An oversize shower to die for!

I especially enjoyed having a Bellini (Venitian local drink) on the picture perfect terrase for two overlooking the bridge and the canal. The front desk service was excellent; they lent me a laptop in order for me to keep up with our reservations at our hotel and breakfast was very nice with a lovely serveuse and a great buffet selection with wonderful fresh fruit and very good coffee

We did not have any difficulty at all finding this location (conveniently located between the Rialto and San Marco Place thanks to the good directions.

It is a wonderful boutique hotel and not to be missed

a final note
If you are looking for a large palace and or an onsite fab restaurant or bar this may not be the place for you. They do serve drinks and the restaurant is there but its much more fun going out and exploring the many fine restaurants by foot that the front desk can help you with.

A very warm thanks to Piero and Giorgio whom made our stay extra special

Grazie mille :)

l americaine de Honfleur

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

What better way to end off a day touring the many side roads and bridges (time and time again as you continually get lost) than a great hotel with excellent views and facilities. I had a junior suite room so plenty of daylight and canal views unlike many dark roomed hotels I've stopped in before. I've been to Venice a few times but this time was really special, from the moment I arrived on the speedboat-best way ever to first see Venice- and was dropped at the hotel steps, I knew all was going to be a joy.With smiling staff always ready to be helpful and many great recommendations to restaurants this was a very relaxing trip, missing everything, the sun, the beauty and those Bellini!

Room Tip: look for rooms with good views from the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I booked this hotel through Airmiles and had read a lot of reviews about it online.
I was under the impression that this was the kind of hotel that would make a lot of effort to make your stay perfect.
So i emailed to request a room with a view of the canal and received a reply stating that to do this i would have to pay a supplement of 50 euros per night.
Airmiles called the room a Junior Suite as i was expecting a lot more as i was paying £100 per night.
The Hotel also didn't have a bar which i found disappointing. It was also really hard to find and we spent about £40 on i phone internet charges trying to locate it.
All in all i bit disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr-aqua, Direttore at Aqua Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Sirs,
I read your review about our hotel and, even if the final judgment is not so negative,
I must admit that the reasons why you didn’t appreciate your stay at our hotel are quite mysterious to me.
First of all every Hotel has got different room categories at different prices.
Reserving a Junior suite (if you did it, that’s not very clear), doesn’t mean that it has to be a room with canal view; when it’s possible, we try to make an upgrade, but our clients are
aware that this means you have to pay a supplement for it.
A free upgrade could be available, but only in low season periods and upon availability, otherwise the additional cost is requested. Concerning the bar, it’s necessary to clarify that, as other Hotels do, we dedicate the space for serving a drink in different areas of the building instead of a specific one. Drinks are served on our private water pier, even to facilitate smokers, or in our upper saloons, on first and second floor. Also our dining room, used for serving breakfast in the morning, is used as a bar area.
Our Hotel’ designer with his project has intentionally created various spaces without the classic bar counter, several guests every day do appreciate our bar service.
Regarding our location, I think that the instructions on our website are clear, in fact most
of our guests find us easily (we know because we keep asking them upon check in). Some guests could have problems in finding us, especially first time travellers to Venice, but
honestly the cheapest and easy thing to do is calling the hotel and ask directions, we are always glad to give instructions over the phone and guide you to the hotel, we can also
collect anyone (as we usually do) when they are near the hotel and they keep
searching for us.
Certainly this is much more convenient than using the GPS in Venice, as these devices often do have a hard time finding the correct direction in this city. You can certainly find disappointing spending £40 for internet phone connections, but for sure it’s not our fault!
We do respect every feedback and you must be sure that we always use them to improve our service to the clients, but at least sometimes the negative one’s make us smile when
these are unpredictable.

Best regards
Piergiovanni Scheda
Director – Aqua Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palace Hotel

Address: Calle de la Malvasia 5492, Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 381 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Aqua Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.