We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Venetian elegance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Duca di Venezia to your Saves list
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 1739 | Fontego dei Turchi, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #38 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Calexico, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Classic Venetian elegance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

The location of this former Palazzo is in a quiet, less touristy district, which is close to the train station, a brisk walk with several bridges or one stop on the vaporetto.
The hotel has a small comfy lobby, which serves as a nice breakfast area with a nice selection. The front desk service were very friendly and helpful with good choices in the area, and arranged a private water taxi tour of the city for us.
The rooms were done in classic Venetian style with nice wood floors, with very comfortable beds and the bathroom larger than most, except for the usual tiny shower.
I would return without hesitation, as it's a good value in this very expensive destination.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    176
    29
    4
    9
See reviews for
119
438
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The reception was really nice and they provided us a roughly map, told us some tips and recommended us some restaurant. The room is very clean and there was a skylight in our room because we were in the third floor. The restaurant they recommended was not good, very expense but the quality of the food was not good. The elevator could only reach second floor so that we need to take our luggage to the third floor by ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Al Duca di Venezia for 2 nights in June 2013 for our honeymoon.

This hotel ended up being a very reasonably priced find, which is extremely difficult in Venice where all hotels appear very expensive or dated.

Our room was a Classic room, done in bright red decor which made it feel very boudoir. The room was plenty large enough for both of us, with a decent sized wardrobe housing a safe, and a fairsized bathroom with bath/overhead shower. We didn't have much of a view out of our window, but it was closed with the airconditioner blasting the whole time regardless due to the hot weather.
The staff were all very friendly from the first introduction, providing us with a lot of information and restaurant recommendations.
The hotel is a bit out of the way - located in a convenient area to get to the rail station, but a decent 20 minute walk all the way to st Marks square. This meant restaurants around that area were a lot cheaper, and it was a lot quieter area to stay in. Being June, Venice was absolutely crowded and overrun with tourists, so it was nice to return to a quieter area each day.

There was free wi-fi which worked most of the time, we did experience a few drop outs in our room. We had the breakfast each day which was simple but sufficient for our needs.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone to stay in Venice.

Room Tip: Our classic room was fine, didn't need to splurge on a more expensive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel was extremely clean, modern and very elegant. The staff were helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. There were 8 of us (two families of 4) and we each had a comfortable family room. We experienced the sort of luxury we didn't think we would be able to afford in Venice. Great!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N. Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights April 2014. The hotel is convenient to the rail and bus stations (about ten minutes walk even with suitcases). As the hotel is beside the natural history museum it is easy to find, following the yellow signs once you cross the bridge from the station. The hotel is family run, small and lovely. Staff very friendly, although facilities are limited. The hotel is a five minute walk from a water bus stop, and a twenty walk to St Mark's Square (which means the hotel is in a quieter district, with more affordable restaurants). Free wi-fi available.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our 10 day stay at Al Duca di Vinecia was wonderful. The care received from Michelle, Antoinette and the other staff, under the watchful eye of Caterina was faultless. The hotel is an easy 800 metre walk from the railway station and only metres from the water taxi and Grand Canal. The hotel is in a quieter area whilst still being close to the best Venice has to offer. We loved relaxing in the piazza with local families We highly recommend the hotel and will stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Be aware there are very different sized rooms and I am told some have bathrooms separate from your h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We spent 4 nights from April 10 to the 14 2014 renting one of the hotel apartments, a two bedroom with one kitchen and one bathroom.
We would say that this is a wonderful place that deserve 5 stars mostly because of the location, cleanness, and customer service. A lot of good restaurants all around easy access either via vaporetto or water taxi or just walking. The director of the hotel is a great leader and made our stay even easier and more joyful organizing excursions and dinners for us.
The apartment is very cozy and let us feel like in our small home...
Only things that I would recommend the management is to improve Internet speed inside the apartment indeed the router is far away from where users will catch the wifi....
Thanks for the wonderful stay

Giuseppe and Alma

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Al Duca di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Address: Santa Croce, 1739 | Fontego dei Turchi, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Duca di Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Al Duca di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Duca di Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.