We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine meal served by friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Casa Bonita

Ristorante Casa Bonita
Cannaregio 492, Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
041 5246164
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #251 of 1,216 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $11 - $46
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta, Chowder, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Description: Tel: 03864830272
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A fine meal served by friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

At the end of our vacation, we returned to Venice for one night, so we could catch our flight in the morning. By the time we checked into the hotel and got cleaned up, it was 21:00, and we were exhausted. Based on our past experience (particularly in this neighborhood), we were not optimistic about finding a decent meal nearby without a reservation. The front desk at Carnival Palace recommended a couple of places, Casa Bonita being one of them. At Casa Bontia, they told us it would be a 20-minute wait for a table. We initially decided to keep looking, but came back and said we'd wait, and would also be willing to take a table inside. The waiter said it would be about 10 minutes. We stepped aside, and prepared to be forgotten, especially because they did not take our name. Moments later, two small glasses of complimentary prosecco appeared.

We were seated only a couple of minutes later. We had delicious bresaola, my wife had chicken on saor, which she enjoyed. I had a nice sea bass. Our orders were taken in a timely fashion, service was attentive, we did not have to wait forever for the check. These things are not to be taken for granted in Venice!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    129
    41
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Beautiful place to have dinner by the river...
Food was awesome especially the baked sea salt seabass, the portion was decent and fish was extremely tasty. Fried fish platter was yummy.
Pizza was cheesy and nice.
Pairing food with white wine completes the meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenfield, in
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just ok but too busy too notice the customers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Went to Casa Bonita at the recommendation of my hotel in Venice and had a preset reservation. Found the food to be ok but pricey and the staff to be busy rushing around but without much customer interaction. Pretty impersonal and they struggled to keep up on a Saturday night. They use the team approach where all the waiters including the owner comes to the table but not one of the took the time to ask if things were ok and we flagged them them down for attention the whole time....from trying to get the initial menu to trying to get the bill and everything in between. Started with their seafood appetizer which they recommended and again it was ok but not anything special. The rest of the meal fit that same pattern.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian with great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

They serve some of the best pizza I have ever tasted. Service is great and the staff are accomodating. I was eating vegetarian, as there aren't any halal extablishments in the area and they played with the toppings to make the pizza interested when i explained this.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had dinner here the day of the Vogalonga regatta - every restaurant was filled to capacity and it was hard to find a place that had a table. We waited about 40 minutes for an outside table that was blissfully separate from the crowd. The food was great: perfectly-cooked risotto with shrimps and truffles, then sea bass baked in a salt crust. The fish was wonderfully moist and more than two of us could finish. The (very busy) waitstaff was kind and helped with recommendations. Not a fancy place, but definitely worth finding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Casa Bonita also viewed

City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Casa Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Casa Bonita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;