We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNIQUE SHOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro San Gallo

Teatro San Gallo
Campo Rusolo o San Gallo | 1097 San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
+39 041 241 2002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 350 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: VENEZIA at Teatro San Gallo, is a celebration of Venice. A light hearted, exuberant and entertaining show that illuminates some of the stories and traditions of the city in a very theatrical and enjoyable way. In this, the last private theatre in Venice, where once there were over 100, the cast of live performers bring to life the fascinating background events of this city's glorious and often scandalous past. Our wish at the theatre is to add to your understanding of this Great City's important story and entertain you along the way.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Augustow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“UNIQUE SHOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

You won't find a show of this kind anywhere else. Takes you to the journey through the centuries, being entertaining at the same time. Great way to spend a nice evening while visiting Venice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    77
    19
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bielsko-Biala, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“discovery of Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was not a lost of money - on contrary the content of the show made me suprised! I didn't expect that in this small theatre near Piazza San Marco I would come across such a valuable attraction. The spectacle gives the possibilty to get know history of Venice in funny, entertaining, teaching way! I even once became thrilled because of the actors who while playing engage audience in the show. Combination of the cute interior, technology used and that the show was in English let me rediscover the Venice!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arecibo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Venezia The Show, DON'T MISS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is the best way to learn the real history of the city. It was very helpful to understand the city and also funny, at a very affordable price.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Short & Sweet- Great value for students!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this intimate performance in a small theatre near San Marco. Cool use of multimedia, and a creative way of imparting interesting information that made exploring the city of Venice more enjoyable. As a student €25 was very reasonable. I think I would be less impressed if I had spent the full price as the show was quite short.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!! A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to this show on our visit to Venice. I can honestly say that this show was one of the things I loved the most about our trip! We had such a great evening!
This show tells you a lot about the history and traditions of Venice in a really funny and interesting way. For example the history of the masks and the stories about Casanova. The theatre is small but that makes it cozy! The cast and the staff are all really nice and friendly.The play is fun and the cast is so enthusiastic while they tell their stories.
Because we are students, we only had to pay €25,- The show was totally worth the price. And the drinks at the bar weren't that high.
I actually only want to say one thing about this show: I loved it and everyone needs to see it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro San Gallo also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Teatro San Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro San Gallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.