We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy Vegetarian and Healthy Choices with Flair!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frary's

Frary's
Fondamenta dei Frari, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
+39 041 720050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #224 of 1,217 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Lebanese, Greek, Vegetarian, Middle Eastern, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: Mediterranean food, greek and lebanise options. Good variety for vegetarian, vegan, lactose free and gluten free (Certificated from AIC). Greek and lebanise wines
Montana
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Fancy Vegetarian and Healthy Choices with Flair!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We enjoyed an assortment of vegetables for an appetizer and lamb and chicken couscous dishes and a home made ice cream infused with flowers and the house white wine-- a pleasing combination.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    102
    28
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Found in 1997 - returned in 2014 - it's that good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

In 1997 I was backpacking through Italy with a friend and we found this place. We ate here almost every meal because the food was excellent and we knew we weren't getting ripped off. Fast forward to 2014 when I am here with my husband and I knew I wanted to find Frary's again. It was just as before. Incredibly fresh, good food, great service, reasonable prices. I love this place and now HE loves this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We originally stopped at Frary's because we were tired, hungry and they advertised gluten-free choices. We came back two more times over our stay because the food is delicious - sometimes exquisite - and feels nourishing. The service is attentive and the environment is attractive and welcoming. We noticed the restaurant is a favorite of residents also.

Federica, the owner is a good guide as what is best that day; we'd recommend following her suggestions.

I noticed one reviewer wanted the food more highly spiced. Usually our preference is for highly spiced food also, but these dishes are so delicately and beautifully flavored that we enjoyed them as served and found them very satisfying. More in would not have been better in our opinion.

Federica, speaks excellent English and is gracious and informed not only about her menu but about the area. She is well traveled; we enjoyed her conversation when she had the time. Her wait staff, Diana and Nicole are gracious and competent.

Note to those who need to be gluten free: If you let the staff know you are gluten sensitive you will be brought your own bread basket and a special chocolate at the end. They are knowledgeable about which dishes are gluten free and will make adjustments to some others as possible.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We went to Frary's on a recent trip to Venice and like others who have reviewed this place, we went because we just wanted something different from the standard Italian fare. We were going onto a concert so arrived just as they were opening up (at 6pm) for the evening. We shared a delicious plate of mixed appetiser containing items such as falafel, hummous, kofte etc. I'd have been happy to have eaten just this as my main meal. I then had the Jordanian rice dish (Maqluba or something) with chicken and my husband had a cous cous dish. My main could have done with some more spicing. We are used to eating well spiced food in the UK but I know many people aren't used to it so it must be difficult to please all tastes in this regard.

The atmosphere was lovely and cosy for a cold March evening with candles on the tables but the warmth really came from the very friendly woman who served us. We spoke to her about places she could recommend for cicheti (the tapas style bites that are a tradition in Venetian bars) and she recommended Cantinone Gia Schiavi in Dorsodouro and Al Timon in Canareggio. Unfortunately, due to lack of time we weren't able to test out these recommendations but it's always good to know where the locals would go.

Overall: The food was good value for what we had but could do with some more spicing (not hot necessarily just spicier). Good choice for vegetarians. Also, the music could be more in keeping with the Middle Eastern/Greek theme of the food (perhaps if we had stayed longer they would have got round to that!).

I would have happily gone back the next night but it was closed on Tuesdays according to our guide book. If you want something different with friendly service that doesn't break the bank then try Frary's.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food....warm staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I'm in Venice every year for weeks at a time. I love Frary's!!
Italian food is fab...but it's great to change it up a bit and Frary's is the perfect place to do so.
The Tzatziki sauce an Peperoni sauce is the best I've ever tasted....in fact...I get it to go.
It was a perfect addition to our 'Martini Party'.
Frary's is a great place to go....relax...and have great food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frary's also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Frary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frary's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.