We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please try it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Bea Vita

Osteria Bea Vita
Cannaregio 3082 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
041 2759 347
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 1,201 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Please try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you fancy an authentic meal and are prepared to step out of the tourist area then this is the place to eat. My friend and I had just arrived in Venice and settled into an apartment about 50 yards away. We were tired so went to the first restaurant we came to and what a lovely meal we both had. Mine was gnocchi with scallops in pistachio sauce and my friends scampi based. I cannot fault the meal, service or friendliness of the staff. We sat in the warm evening sun beside a small canal and it was a lovely experience.If you can please give them a try and I'm sure you'll enjoy your meal as much as we did. There is a cover charge of 2.5 euros per person but don't let this put you off.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    106
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our last night in Venice we had dinner here and it was perfect...
- excellent service, the owners seemed to genuinely care about making us happy
- quiet location/ not a very touristy area
- fantastic food... everything we had was just delicious (highly recommend the sea bass, veal and homemade tiramisu) for a reasonable price, not overly expensive for a really nice meal
I would recommend to anyone to go here for dinner! I had to give this restaurant 5 stars in every area... because it really was a prefect mix of everything from excellent atmosphere to value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great basic local food, great location, service with a smile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We truly enjoyed a lunch at this restaurant. I love to visit restaurants that offer true local food and are places where locals enjoy going too. This osteria is such a place. It was great to see locals enjoy a drink on the outside terrace and meet with their neighbours. This osteria clearly play a social role in this neighbourhood.
We had a basic lunch, which was the nicest one we had during our 3 day visit. No frills, just good food. The location is great (away from the masses) and the service is great (very attentive). Would not have minded to have eaten all my meals here! Go see it, it's lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food in a welcoming environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were recommended to try this small family-run bar-restaurant by a local student who helped us find our hotel when we arrived from the station late at night in this quiet residential area of Venice. We enjoyed our first meal so much than we went back twice to sample more of their traditional Venetian cooking. Mussels and clams were a real success as a starter and we also enjoyed their taglialini with asparagus and scampi, veal steak with marsala and beef steak with potatoes in parsley and steamed carrots and beans, pannacotta and a really nice but not too filling meringuata. Very nice house wines, too, and incredibly friendly service. Terrific atmosphere with a mix of locals and visitors, and although i's a small place they coped well with two parties of ten and two or three couples on one of our visits.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“A genuine family run Trattoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Eight of us received a warm welcome here as we came in off the 'street'. 3 vegetarians and a coeliac among us caused amusement rather than consternation. The food was just excellent - mussels and clams, scallops in a citrus crust, squid in ink sauce with polenta, veal in a creamy sauce, spaghetti in tomato sauce and home-made tiramisu. Washed down with wine at €8.50 a litre. But more than anything it was the homely atmosphere and relaxed friendliness that we all enjoyed. A real highlight.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Bea Vita also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Bea Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Bea Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.