We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante alla Conchiglia

Ristorante alla Conchiglia
Fondamenta S. Lorenzo no 4990 - 91, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)
+39.041.52.89095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #505 of 1,132 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $44 - $89
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Mediterranean, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Me and my girlfriend recently went to Venice for her birthday. We decided to have a meal at Ristorante Alla Conchiglia as it looked nice from the bridge.
The staff were very friendly and prompt while serving us and the food was nice.
We did have a starter, main and a cheese board to share but I feel it was worth 70€ not the 130€ that it cost.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    52
    34
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having a fantastic time in the rain in Venezia. This is the best seafood and best service we have had so far. We recommend the stuffed squid, the scampi and prawns and the baked scallops. Great lunch watching the gondolas pass by! Come all!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We chose this restaurant because it was so close to our apartment....right beside our picturesque canal but off the beaten path a little so much quieter than eating along the Grand Canal. All in all, it was a nice dinner...staff were pleasant, we were seated immediately even though we didn't have a reservation and our food was okay....nothing spectacular but nothing unpleasant either and very decent value for the price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good food but on the pricey side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It has a nice location with tables right by a somewhat lesser but still busy canal. Lots of taxis and cargo boats going by. So if that's a distraction you want to avoid, go elsewhere. The service was friendly and prompt. I heard the server speaking English to some of the other customers. I had the menu fisso... only E17 for 3 courses including cover with 5 or 6 selections in each course. Vegetable soup, breaded chicken with potatoes and desert. All were good. The potatoes were a bit on the greasy side for my taste indicating they may have been sitting for awhile and then heated. My companions meals were a different matter. Altho both said they were good, the prices were quite unreasonable as they were charged for cover and E6 for a plate of potatoes like mine and E6 for a plate of grilled peppers. Their steaks were E27! If you go definitely take the menu fisso! 12% service is added to the bill so no need to tip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great venue, service and price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We went here without consulting Trip Advisor, and I'm glad we did, as the reviews weren't stellar. My wife and I both had seafood pasta dishes that were very fresh, delicious and reasonably priced (10-12 Euro). Of course the wine, bottled water and antipasti increased the price threefold. The service was the best we've had in Europe. This just emphasizes the fact that in many cases, dining experiences vary from one person to the next (the night before we went to a place that was very highly rated on this site and was subpar).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante alla Conchiglia also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante alla Conchiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante alla Conchiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.