We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante alla Conchiglia

Ristorante alla Conchiglia
Fondamenta S. Lorenzo no 4990 - 91, 30122 Venice, Italy
+39.041.52.89095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #572 of 1,204 restaurants in Venice
Price range: $44 - $89
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pasta, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We chose this restaurant because it was so close to our apartment....right beside our picturesque canal but off the beaten path a little so much quieter than eating along the Grand Canal. All in all, it was a nice dinner...staff were pleasant, we were seated immediately even though we didn't have a reservation and our food was okay....nothing spectacular but nothing unpleasant either and very decent value for the price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    46
    36
    23
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food but on the pricey side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It has a nice location with tables right by a somewhat lesser but still busy canal. Lots of taxis and cargo boats going by. So if that's a distraction you want to avoid, go elsewhere. The service was friendly and prompt. I heard the server speaking English to some of the other customers. I had the menu fisso... only E17 for 3 courses including cover with 5 or 6 selections in each course. Vegetable soup, breaded chicken with potatoes and desert. All were good. The potatoes were a bit on the greasy side for my taste indicating they may have been sitting for awhile and then heated. My companions meals were a different matter. Altho both said they were good, the prices were quite unreasonable as they were charged for cover and E6 for a plate of potatoes like mine and E6 for a plate of grilled peppers. Their steaks were E27! If you go definitely take the menu fisso! 12% service is added to the bill so no need to tip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great venue, service and price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We went here without consulting Trip Advisor, and I'm glad we did, as the reviews weren't stellar. My wife and I both had seafood pasta dishes that were very fresh, delicious and reasonably priced (10-12 Euro). Of course the wine, bottled water and antipasti increased the price threefold. The service was the best we've had in Europe. This just emphasizes the fact that in many cases, dining experiences vary from one person to the next (the night before we went to a place that was very highly rated on this site and was subpar).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best presentation and preparation of fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This restaurant does a special job of selecting and preparing the freshest seafood daily. We had Dorado, sea bass and turbo and they were all exquisite lay prepared. The wait staff was attentive, skilled, and congenial. It was such a lovely evening we returned again two nights later. Again, we were thrilled. We wish we had not paid attention to the recommendations for the restaurant we chose on between, as it fell short of the Conchilglia!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Been here a few years ago but not so good as before.location by the canal is nice but the food is nothing special.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante alla Conchiglia also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante alla Conchiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante alla Conchiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.