We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant, a bit over-priced but it's Venice !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante alla Conchiglia

Ristorante alla Conchiglia
Fondamenta S. Lorenzo no 4990 - 91, 30122 Venice, Italy
+39.041.52.89095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #570 of 1,203 restaurants in Venice
Price range: $44 - $89
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pasta, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“very pleasant, a bit over-priced but it's Venice !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nice to sit by the canal and take in the passing gondola rides, service very friendly, nice rather than outstanding food, the additional charges on your bill never sit comfortably with us (service charge AND cover charge - what's that all about ?) but the accordion player who serenades you at your table is a nice extra (although he expects a tip too !) Overall : very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    46
    36
    22
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great meal on the canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Vegetarian options were excellent and the pasta in lobster sauce came with incredible chunks of meat. Wine available was excellent and the service was attentive. I understand the previous posters comments, this is not a place to eat if you are on a budget. It is a wonderful mini-splurge as is most of Venice. Check service was typical of all of Europe, you have to ask for it. Two entrees, one appetizer, four glasses of wine about 60€.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excessive service charge and overpriced food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This restaurant was recommended in Rick Steves Italy book but I would definitely NOT recommend it. First of all, if you order Pizza or a fixed price meal, you can only eat Inside. We were charged 1.50 euro per person cover charge (coperto) which was no big deal since we encountered this in a few other restaurants throughout Italy, but we were also charged a 12.8% service charge (itemized separately on the bill) which did not include any gratuity for the waiting staff (the bill said, "any gratuity is up to you", and the waiting staff confirmed that the service charge did not include their gratuity.) Foolishly, I ordered a fresh medium-sized Flounder without asking the price and was charged $65.55 euros for the fish!! (over $82.00 U.S. dollars!) The fish was fresh but was smothered in a black olive sauce that totally overwhelmed the fish. We were a party of 5 and the food for rest of the party was mediocre but expensive. I think the owner of the restaurant has taken advantage of the reviews received by some travel writers and is gouging the customer. And while this is located beside a canal, be aware that because it's a wider canal, the majority of the traffic is small motor boats roaring by every 5 minutes. I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant off the tourist track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We recently ate at this restaurant with another couple and it was a fantastic dining experience. It was recommended by one of the local taxi boat drivers. The waiter we had recommended a type of wine which we all thought was off and he replaced it without question. The next bottle was perfect. The food was excellent. It wasn't cheap (€ 80 a head for 3 courses but inclusive of wine and spirits) but was worth it. We would strongly recommend this restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We sat right beside the canal in our group of eight. We ordered the fresh fish special. We picked out the fish - sea bass, sea bream, and flounder. It was filleted at our table and served family style with wonderful creamy potatoes. We also ate a delicious pasta dish. The service was excellent. Complimentary limoncello ended our meal! It made for a great Venice eating experience!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante alla Conchiglia also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante alla Conchiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante alla Conchiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.