We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bottle of wine overlooking the canal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Bancogiro

Osteria Bancogiro
Campo San Giacometto, 122, I-30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
+39 041 5232061
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 1,198 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $34 - $82
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: San Polo
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely bottle of wine overlooking the canal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great place to share a bottle of wine and watch the world go by. We also tried the cured meat platter and cheese selection which were lovely. Would definitely recommend stopping by for an evening chill out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    190
    53
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A cold October evening in Venice but a warm and thoroughly excellent dinner at this restaurant next to the fish market by the Rialto.
The waiter was friendly and helpful and we had a meaningful discussion about wines of the Veneto region. We ate the fish antipasto consisting of six portions of different fish mixed with herbs and fine ricotta. My partner had tuna and I sea bass. Both were delicate but strong in flavor. My dish, the Branzino cooked in a chick pea sauce with fennel was outstanding . There was no need for dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet location by the Grand Canal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a lovely place to eat in Venice! Although it's only a few yards away from the mayhem of the Rialto, it's in a quiet and elegant setting with views of the boats passing on the canal, but none of the tourist tat of so many Venice locations. We shared a cheese starter - 6 lovely cheeses with chutneys, servied on a slate - plenty for the two of us - and then, after several days of eating fish, both opted for meat main courses, one steak and one lamp chops, beautifully cooked and presented. We drank a very respectable red wine, and rounded it off with a strawberry mousse for my daughter and a brandy for me. Not cheap, but absolutely what we wanted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We wanted to eat dinner before 7, 7:30 and based upon Rick Steves' guidebook, we ended up here as they have a full kitchen. We were on a three week trip all over Italy and in contrast to most of the places we dined, we enjoyed the more international leanings of this restaurant. Almost everything we had was very good to excellent, with the exception of a barley or similar grain in soy sauce which was very plain. Nicely decorated, with good service and a very good wine list. And their cicchetti is good too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Down by the riverside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Osteria Bancogiro, not surprisingly, is in an old bank building about a hundred feet from the bottom of the Rialto Bridge in San Polo. From the front it looks much as do many other restaurants. But there are no indoor tables. They are all outside overlooking the Grand Canal. While by no means a luxe establishment, the restaurant has good solid Venetian dishes.
A very pleasant place to dine. And it's open from noon on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Bancogiro also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Bancogiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Bancogiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.