We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria L'Orto dei Mori

Osteria L'Orto dei Mori
Campo dei Mori 3386, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
041 5243677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 1,217 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $45 - $67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A lovely restaurant in Cannareggio Sestiere, tucked in a very quiet part of Venice, away from the hustle & bustle of the touristy area!! Nice!!

Restaurant was tastefully decorated, service was friendly & for a celebration of my husband's birthday - Perfect & Romantic!

We are a part of 3 & we ordered:
1) Beef Cappacio - To die for - One of the best we ever had!!
2) Scallope Au Gratin - Fresh, Fresh, Fresh!!
3) Fried Seafood Platter - Fresh & well seasoned!
4) Gnocchi - Not bad - but a little more seasoning needed, I think!
5) John Dory steamed in plastic wrap - Fresh but a little overdone but still good!
6) Veal wrapped with bacon - Most Yummilicious!! MUST HAVE!!

With a glass of house red & a bottle of still water, we paid about €100!! Reasonable for so much food & quality!!

Although not every dish was perfect, overall we were happy!! Will recommend definitely!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    172
    43
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Food in Canaregio?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Possibly - very good standard with a varied menu and whilst not a cheap menu the quality of cooking makes it a worthwhile place to look out for. I go there whenever I am in Venice

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
“Very good food, very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This restaurant was close to our apartment so we took a guess and it was one of the best meals we had in Venice

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous lunch on the Fondamenta dei Mori in Cannareggio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Getting away from the hordes of tourists in Venice is great fun. Finding a fantastic restaurant with a view of a canal in the old Moorish district was even better. We went to Cannareggio in October 2011 in search of the Madonna dell'Orto church, where Tintoretto painted many of the frescoes. Stumbled on the Osteria l'orto dei Mori and read the testimonials in the window. It's a very small restaurant with one or two tables by the window, a tiny kitchen that turns out incredible food. Good service, helpful staff gave excellent wine recommendations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Modern Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very convenient to my hotel. Food was very very good. Good wine list, and excellent service. Creative desserts including a terrific tiramisu.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria L'Orto dei Mori also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria L'Orto dei Mori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria L'Orto dei Mori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.