We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Italian cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria L'Orto dei Mori

Osteria L'Orto dei Mori
Campo dei Mori 3386, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)
041 5243677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 1,216 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $67
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Modern Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very convenient to my hotel. Food was very very good. Good wine list, and excellent service. Creative desserts including a terrific tiramisu.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    185
    50
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We truly enjoyed Christmas Eve dinner at the Osteria and couldn't be more pleased. Everything was well-prepared, delicious and gourmet. The wine was excellent.

We did not find the service to be lacking. Instead, the waitress was very helpful with her recommendations and with suggestions for our two children. They entertained the kids with animal sounds and the chef was very personable with them when he came out to check on the diners. We booked by email and had no problems. None of this, of course, should impact on the quality of the food, but I felt I needed to state that the service was very good during our visit.

As we finished dinner and dessert and began to ready to leave, the servers did become a bit overwhelmed as several large parties appeared at about the same time. The restaurant space is very small, so there was a bit of a dance to get tables ready and people seated. But I did not witness any surly or rude behaviour.

Again, the food was perfect, and we thouroughly enjoyed our very memorable Christmas Eve dinner in Venice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Cosy Unpretentious Osteria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I made a booking through the phone one month in advance. The person who answered was very easy to talk with. That night we arrived and had a small table near the door. The place was small and cosy, nice and simple decoration, soft lighting and good food. Decent portions, well presented, good timing between meals. The only thing is that there were only two waitresses, so they looked a bit stresssed and hardly give you a smile, which I don't necessarily care as long as the food is good, but other people might feel uncomfortable by this attitude. One of them didn't even know what a chinotto was, when this is a very popular soda produced in Italy by several companies!!!!! anyway......We had the degustation menu for euro 122,50 which is fair for what we had. If we come back to Venice I would return to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This restaurant is a real little gem which we found during our trip to Venice in November. It's only small so you need to book ahead. The service was fantastic. The staff were so welcoming and the waitress took great pains to describe various items on the menu and help with our wine choice - her recommendation was excellent. Food was delicious and beautifully presented. Would highly recommend for a special meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A delicious adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Venice never ceases to amaze me. It is fun trying to get lost. But the best is trying all the wonderful restaurants it has to offer......which now adds Osteria L'Orto dei Mori to my list. We found this restaurant last year. Loved it so much, we returned two nights out of four days of our stay in Venice this time around. An innovative chef with a wonderful staff. Our server Anna was the best. We felt very welcome and not overwhelmed. The food was a gourmet experience. We started with the creamed cod fish. The homemade gnocchi was the lightest I ever tasted - served with a zuchini sauce. We also enjoyed linquini with sepia sauce. Our main course was fillet of sole over black rice with curry. Wow!! If you are not afraid to enjoy an adventure in food...find your way to Osteria L'Orto dei Mori. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria L'Orto dei Mori also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria L'Orto dei Mori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria L'Orto dei Mori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.