We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best street food pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Forno

Antico Forno
Ruga Vecchia San Giovanni (Ruga Rialto) -970 | Between the Rialto Bridge and Campo San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
+39 041 520 4110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,196 restaurants in Venice
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta, cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: The place offers Free WiFi Air-conditioning is always on: fresh air to fight the hot Venetian Summer days and a nice heat in Winter All the mixtures rise naturally, in a time lapse from 48 to 72 hours. Thanks to that, all pizzas and flat breads are light and crunchy
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best street food pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

After wandering what seemed like the whole of Venice we decided this was pretty much the best pizza by the slice to be found in the city. Big slices, deep pan or extra thin, fresh toppings... not only that, but it was some of the cheapest at about €2.50 a slice. Little cups of vin brule for €1.50 too make for a favourite lunch stop, especially as you can walk just round the corner and watch the world go by on the Grand Canal.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    625
    250
    64
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place for quick lunch in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Probably the best pizza we had in Italy. Great place for a quick lunch for a very reasonable price. Variety of pizzas is good – you can have them in thin (Italian) of thick (American) version. The service is nice and quick. If you are a beer person (like myself) you got to try also the “Birra Venezia” it goes great with the Pizza especially in the hot summer – the red label version is great red ale type of beer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The pizza was just great, and you could taste the ingredients and know they were of good quality. The space is very small but you are not really supposed to eat in there, but take your slice with you anyway. It does look nice and very italian though. I just missed the traditional italian warmth. You may get in and off without seeing a smile.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza - my husband's favourite in all of Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

It was a bit hard for us to find, but well worth it. Very friendly service and good prices. We tried a mix of thin and thick crust pizza slices. I'd say they had one of the best thick crust pizzas I've ever had (nice and light - not oily at all) and my husband said it was the best pizza he had on our entire trip! The only downfall is there's no seating, but there is a counter along the wall that you can stand and eat at while people-watching. I wish we had time to go again on our trip!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just another Pizza booth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

It is just another fast food Pizza booth (only take-away or stand - no chairs). There must be hundreds of the like in Venice. If you want a good slice of Pizza just enter a Pizza booth around the corner from where you are right now. Why is this specific place on 8th position? This is totally misleading. If you really really want delicious take-away Pizza slices go to Vancouver, Canada.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Antico Forno also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Antico Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Forno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.