We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza at great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Forno

Antico Forno
Ruga Vecchia San Giovanni (Ruga Rialto) -970 | Between the Rialto Bridge and Campo San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
+39 041 520 4110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,197 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: The place offers Free WiFi Air-conditioning is always on: fresh air to fight the hot Venetian Summer days and a nice heat in Winter All the mixtures rise naturally, in a time lapse from 48 to 72 hours. Thanks to that, all pizzas and flat breads are light and crunchy
HK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Pizza at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wonderful pizzas at 3Euro per slice. Go for the thick crust pizzas, it's super crunchy and airy. Surprisingly, the thin crust was more chewy. Guess that's why this place has more thick crust selections. We were looking for the "best pizzas" in Italy and this came really close. They have a great selection for different cravings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    314
    77
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza both times!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We went here twice on our trip!!! Bring a vegetarian it's been somewhat difficult to find pizza, but this place was amazing! We happened to walk by the first day and were blown away!! We then went out of our way to go again having different pizzas each time. This place is amazing, even if your a meat eater, and would go back weekly if I could. The lady and gentleman working there remembered us as well and were very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow... what a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Venice is one of those places where you don't find anything, you just stumble upon it and Antico Forno is one of them! And we are glad we did because this place was fabulous!! The pizza is amazing and we had the one where they say is spicy, which it was but not a burn your mouth style spicy but just delicious spicy. We ordered an entire pie and while we waited, chatted with the woman that was working there about the economy of venice, etc... Needless to say, she was very friendly and her english was great.

We took our food to go and ate at the pier overlooking the water and boats. We loved it so much we went back our second night and got the same thing. The cook actually remembered us and gave us a free slice while we waited for our pie. What more can I say, except I already miss their pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Deserves the good reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We visited twice, once it was very busy and as nobody seems to queue in Italy it was just a case of catching the persons eye and getting in first! The counter has two sides, one in the street and one inside so its a bit of a free-for-all. They had a good selection of different pizzas, thin and thick crust and we tried several, all of which were really good. The second time we went it wasn't so busy so there was more time to look at the toppings. I don't think we'd have found it had we not had the directions as it's tucked down a small street right at the end, but it's definitely worth looking for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great find for pizza in Venice with great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to see this yummy pizza while walking from the Rialto and boy were we glad we decided to stop in. The service was great and they didn't rush you out. They even offer free wi-fi. Great choice for a walking lunch or a non-restaurant dinner. Standing room inside for eating in. Amazing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico Forno also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Antico Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Forno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.