We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pizza both times!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Forno

Antico Forno
Ruga Vecchia San Giovanni (Ruga Rialto) -970 | Between the Rialto Bridge and Campo San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
+39 041 520 4110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,208 restaurants in Venice
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta, cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: The place offers Free WiFi Air-conditioning is always on: fresh air to fight the hot Venetian Summer days and a nice heat in Winter All the mixtures rise naturally, in a time lapse from 48 to 72 hours. Thanks to that, all pizzas and flat breads are light and crunchy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing pizza both times!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We went here twice on our trip!!! Bring a vegetarian it's been somewhat difficult to find pizza, but this place was amazing! We happened to walk by the first day and were blown away!! We then went out of our way to go again having different pizzas each time. This place is amazing, even if your a meat eater, and would go back weekly if I could. The lady and gentleman working there remembered us as well and were very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    659
    264
    68
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow... what a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Venice is one of those places where you don't find anything, you just stumble upon it and Antico Forno is one of them! And we are glad we did because this place was fabulous!! The pizza is amazing and we had the one where they say is spicy, which it was but not a burn your mouth style spicy but just delicious spicy. We ordered an entire pie and while we waited, chatted with the woman that was working there about the economy of venice, etc... Needless to say, she was very friendly and her english was great.

We took our food to go and ate at the pier overlooking the water and boats. We loved it so much we went back our second night and got the same thing. The cook actually remembered us and gave us a free slice while we waited for our pie. What more can I say, except I already miss their pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Deserves the good reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We visited twice, once it was very busy and as nobody seems to queue in Italy it was just a case of catching the persons eye and getting in first! The counter has two sides, one in the street and one inside so its a bit of a free-for-all. They had a good selection of different pizzas, thin and thick crust and we tried several, all of which were really good. The second time we went it wasn't so busy so there was more time to look at the toppings. I don't think we'd have found it had we not had the directions as it's tucked down a small street right at the end, but it's definitely worth looking for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great find for pizza in Venice with great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to see this yummy pizza while walking from the Rialto and boy were we glad we decided to stop in. The service was great and they didn't rush you out. They even offer free wi-fi. Great choice for a walking lunch or a non-restaurant dinner. Standing room inside for eating in. Amazing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice during our 3 days in Venice. The thick crust pizzas are just delicious and there are many choices. We tried 4 different ones and loved them all. And it's cheap.... We took away a box of 7 large slices of thick and thin crust pizzas for 19 Euros.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Antico Forno also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Antico Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Forno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.