We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizzeria in Venice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Forno

Antico Forno
Ruga Vecchia San Giovanni (Ruga Rialto) -970 | Between the Rialto Bridge and Campo San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
+39 041 520 4110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,196 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: San Polo
Description: The place offers Free WiFi Air-conditioning is always on: fresh air to fight the hot Venetian Summer days and a nice heat in Winter All the mixtures rise naturally, in a time lapse from 48 to 72 hours. Thanks to that, all pizzas and flat breads are light and crunchy
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Best Pizzeria in Venice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We found Antico Forno while walking through the bylanes around the Rialto Bridge. Absolutely fantastic pizzas and so cheap! The staff was super friendly!! We visited them a couple of times more during our stay. We were even offered a complimentary drink and delicious garlic bread on our last visit before we left Venice.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    314
    77
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious street food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our routine in Venice was to eat light during the day and make dinner our big meal, so stopping off for a slice at Antico Forno while on our way to various sights and activities was the perfect lunch option for us, one we partook in almost daily. The pizzas are continually being made, so are always fresh and delicious, unlike the unappealing congealed slices waiting to be microwaved at other eateries around Venice, and at 2.50 euros per slice (large enough for a light lunch or substantial snack) it is definitely a cheap option. And they are such excellent pizzas- crispy base, plenty of cheese, perfect seasoning and quality ingredients. My favourites were the ham and mushroom, and the plain ham, but really, all the toppings were great. A final bonus, as well as the central location, is that Antico Forno is open throughout the day and into the evening which is particularly handy for those on holidays who aren't keeping regular mealtimes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy pizza, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

You walk in, order what you want, stand to eat it, pay and leave very happy. The pizza is tasty and good value.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We looked for this place, because the recommandations were so good. And my god, it was the best pizzaslice ever! The crust was really crispy. There was also enough choice. So definatly something for everyone!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is take away only!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

It was a disappointment to see that this was a take away place. The pizza s on counter was quiet appealing though. As we were looking for a seated long relaxing lunch we d?dnt try the pizzaz

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Antico Forno also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Antico Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Forno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.