We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Lovely little gem in the center of Venice. Travelled here as part of our honeymoon and it was the perfect place for us. The hotel has friendly staff, clean rooms and lovely suroundings, placed right next to the Grand Canal. Placed slightly outside the main tourist areas, it has a lovely and calm athmosphere, but is close enough to reach all parts of town on foot.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    224
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
216
1,012
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and highly recommend this hotel. The location is excellent, rooms are very clean and cozy, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dollar
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

went there for my honeymoon had what was termed as an apartment just off the canal which meant our view was not of the canal but no mind. room was small but opulent. great stocked mini bar essential for our arrival after midnight when ryanair lost our luggage and we got lost trying to walk to the hotel - the mini prosecco went down a treat. great bed bathroom etc but piece de resistence was the tv in the rococco mirror

breakfast served later than advertised which was good great selection and sitting out on the little dock was an essential day or night

it cost a lot but worth it

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Travelled this summer with small children,stayed in grand suite.My wife is very picky and choosy when comes to selecting hotels, but this time she had not a single complaint rather praising all through. Rooms are heavenly comfortable, clean and tidy,location is unbeatable, but best of all is the service. the staff are so welcoming and helpful which made our stay an unforgetable one.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Hotel Canal Grande truly rolls out the red carpet for its guests. We arrived for our 6-day stay several hours before the official check-in time, but the staff wasn't rattled at all. They got us right into our room, and what a room it was! We were on the corner of the hotel in a room overlooking the canal and the campo (square) next to the hotel. When our feet were tired from exploring, we simply kicked off our shoes and watched the excitement on the Grand Canal from the comfort of our air conditioned room. The bathroom was well-equipped, including hair dryer, toiletries, even a retractable clothesline. Our room had a closet with two full-length mirrors for its doors. Breakfast is served in a lovely room with views of the canal, but they also have tables right on their deck on the Grand Canal. I thought the food was very good... mostly pastries, but there's also yogurt, cereals, meats and cheeses... and of course any kind of coffee or hot chocolate. There is also a small bar, and the hotel staff will fix you a drink at any hour. The location also is fabulous, because it is in the midst of aquiet residential area, yet a stone's throw from the Ferrovia vaporetto stop and the train station. That means, no matter where you are in Venice, you can always find your way back to the hotel by following the signs pointing to those landmarks. I must say, all the warnings I'd heard about Venetians disliking tourists proved true in many places, even when we were giving them business, but this is not true at Hotel Canal Grande. Everyone here, from the folks at the desk to the folks cleaning the rooms, made a point of making us feel welcome, and it came across as 100 percent genuine. We loved our stay in Venice, and it was largely due to the fantastic performance of the Hotel Canal Grande team.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (sojourning)
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My wife & I stayed with the hotel twice, recently, for a total of 5 nights. We had the most wonderful stay.
Service: fantastic - staff were always useful and friendly with excellent recommendations
Rooms: good size, great views, excellent fittings etc
Cleanliness: wonderful
Food: breakfast was fine - nothing over the top, a standard 'continental'

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Canal Grande for several days while on business in Italy. I wanted something on the Grand Canal, near the train station (I had meetings elsewhere in the country but wanted to stay in Venice) and this was the perfect location. The hotel was newly renovated, beautiful and the staff was outstanding! Don't bother with the "big named" hotels, you won't get the service and amenities at a great rate. Although it's on one end of the canal, you can easily walk to all the touristy areas or take the water taxi which is about 3 minutes away. It was nice to also be in more of a neighborhood and to be able to see how the Venetions lived on a daily basis.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace
The Gritti Palace
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,750 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#49 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli
Hotel Danieli
#87 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.