We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #6 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great hotel in a quiet area directly on the canal. Away from busy crowds this hotel had great views of the canal. Spacious rooms excellent shower amenities. Staff was super attentive. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    189
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
188
871
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The building wasn't so fancy..but once we stepped in after a trip from Milan..I was called by NAME...the staff can be rated 10/10...they immediatly explained the city like a tour guide..
The rooms are so modern you don't wanna leave...
Please catch the tasty breakfast at the balcony...priceless.. 4 tables out there but early morning are quiet...
The only negative is the location far from the main attraction..40 mins by the public water taxi...but the beauty superceeds

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Hotel Canal Grande was our first stop when arriving in Italy....what a treat!! The staff was very accommodating and made sure all of our needs were satisfied. The rooms were very nice! Can't say enough about the location....How do you beat having breakfast overlooking the Grand Canal?!?! I wished we had more time to stay in Venice and had not listened to friends saying we needed only a few days in Venice....wrong!! So for our next visit to Venice, staying at the Hotel Canal Grande will be the Top of the List! Thank you again for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

What is there not to love about this hotel!
The location was ideal with easy access to all the Venetian transport network but also walkable (with comfortable shoes!) to the many attractions that makes Venice so diverse.
The hotel is small, clean and very comfortable beautifully positioned next to the Grand Canal but still within a tranquil, pretty square.
However it is the hotel staff that make this hotel so special. They were all welcoming, courteous, polite and very helpful. The advice and recommendations they offered enabled us to make the most of our 4 night stay.
Thanks to the Hotel Canal Grande and it's brilliant staff we had a wonderful visit to Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay in Venice at the Hotel Canal Grande. We have a double prestige room with terrace, the only room with a terrace. The room was small but very clean, beautifully decorated and had an amazing canal view. The staff of the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful, always inquiring to your needs. My birthday was during our staff, the staff sang happy birthday to me and the hotel provided me with a birthday cake, candle and all. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to visiting them again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

1 night stay here in a Jr. suite/ 1 1/2 baths! Hubby and I and adult son spent 1 night here before heading to Rome. We chose this property based on reviews and close walking to Train Station. Very nice staff with great English skills. Comfortable lounge, very good breakfast and comfortable beds. In the morning we took a complimentary water Taxi to the Murano glass factory. So much fun on our own boat. We loved our short stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. If anything, it was even better than it's excellent reviews. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We don't speak Italian, and their English was excellent. I especially appreciated their restaurant recommendations - small local places with excellent fresh food. It was our first trip to Italy, and they cheerfully gave us great advice on finding our way around, shopping, and public restrooms (buy a latte, and use the coffee shop's!). The location on the Grande Canal was perfect. Our water taxi pulled right up to the front door, and we enjoyed sipping a glass of wine on the canal-side balcony as the sun went down. Breakfast offerings were delicious and generous. We did not order the optional items, but eggs and omlets are available. The hotel was full, and we lucked into a free room upgrade: two floor suite with parquet and marble floors, sumptious curtains, and our own private balcony. I cannot think of a single thing to improve, and I will certainly book this hotel again any time we are in Venice. We only stayed 2.5 days, but were made to truly feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.