We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Save Saved
You added Hotel Canal Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 382 hotels in Venice
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just returned from a five night stay at the Hotel Canal Grande, from the moment we arrived to checkout , everything was perfect.Our room/suit was beautiful and spotless,and very comfortable,and had everything we required.Every one of the staff was very helpful and friendly,it would be hard to name them as they were all brilliant,and all had good local knowledge of restaurants which we found very helpful.Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff,and all we attentive at all times.Breakfast was good and in a nice relaxed atmosphere.Have on hesitation to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: our room was on the side above the courtyard which was nice an quiet,although not a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    971
    169
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
169
794
21
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

just spent 5 days at Canal Grande Hotel in Venice. What can I say! from the moment we arrived until we left the staff were just fantastic, nothing was too much trouble to make sure we enjoyed our stay with them and they were so very friendly with excellent English. The room was beautiful overlooking the Grand Canal, I could have just sat there all day looking out. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I began our two week holiday in Italy in Venice at the Hotel Canal Grande. I cant say enough about what a wonderful start to our holiday this was. The staff are exceptional, especially the wonderful lady at the front desk. I only wish I could remember her name so I could thank her once again. Her assistance was exceptional, from helping me with the finding my way to personally calling the tour company to verify the time and confirm our reservation.
Cant wait to return, and highly recommend the hotel and the staff.
Molte Grazie

Room Tip: Our room was not one the ones on the canal and it was great. Safe and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel with a typically venetian decor was very very cozy. The location was very good, near to the train station and local restaurants. The staff was kind and helpful all the time. Breakfast was wonderful and our room was beautiful and comfortable. Value for money! We loved!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We thought from previous reviews on Tripadvisor that the hotel would be good, and we were right! Excellent position beside the canal and five minutes walk from the railway station. There's a vaporetto stop a couple of minutes away.

The room that we had (Carlo Goldoni) was small and beautifully furnished, but everything was there and what 'made' the hotel was the friendliness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The buffet breakfasts were excellent, and if you were lucky, you could have it on the terrace in the sunshine, watching the hustle and bustle on the canal.

If you like a small, friendly, well-positioned hotel, this is the place to stay in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

it was a return visit to canal grande for my husbands 65th birthday and our friends celebrated their ruby wedding.What a wonderful hotel with first class staff..Giovana welcomed us and offered an upgrade. The restaurant staff were so attentive,remembering our preferences for breakast. We came back one day to find in our room chocolate cake for my husband and complementary bottle of prosecco.Our friends were thrilled by the service received. What a memorable trip..Venice in all its splendour and Canal Grande,the ONLY place to stay. We look forward to a third stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I am a travel agent and hence have the pick of the bunch of hotels on offer and wow did I pick the best at the canal grande
From the moment you arrive the lovely staff are there to make your stay memorable
The position is fantastic the decor very tasteful with original murano glass and Venetian furniture you actually feel you are staying in your own palazzo which is the unique factor
The rooms are beautiful especially the canal view suites which are to die for!! These can accommodate a family also
The breakfast was yummy with an array of goodies and as I am gluten free they presented me with a lovely assortments of extras which was a treat
The terrace overlooking the grande canal was so special watching the hustle bustle of everyday life on the canal and where the water taxi delivers you to and a great place to have breakfast or aperitifs I can recommend their delicious local wines
Venice is a magical city and hotel canal grande makes it so
There is so much to see and do that you feel you have to return
So put it in your to do one day list but don't leave it to the last minute or they will be booked up!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.