We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

just spent 5 days at Canal Grande Hotel in Venice. What can I say! from the moment we arrived until we left the staff were just fantastic, nothing was too much trouble to make sure we enjoyed our stay with them and they were so very friendly with excellent English. The room was beautiful overlooking the Grand Canal, I could have just sat there all day looking out. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    212
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
205
976
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virgil, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I began our two week holiday in Italy in Venice at the Hotel Canal Grande. I cant say enough about what a wonderful start to our holiday this was. The staff are exceptional, especially the wonderful lady at the front desk. I only wish I could remember her name so I could thank her once again. Her assistance was exceptional, from helping me with the finding my way to personally calling the tour company to verify the time and confirm our reservation.
Cant wait to return, and highly recommend the hotel and the staff.
Molte Grazie

Room Tip: Our room was not one the ones on the canal and it was great. Safe and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel with a typically venetian decor was very very cozy. The location was very good, near to the train station and local restaurants. The staff was kind and helpful all the time. Breakfast was wonderful and our room was beautiful and comfortable. Value for money! We loved!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We thought from previous reviews on Tripadvisor that the hotel would be good, and we were right! Excellent position beside the canal and five minutes walk from the railway station. There's a vaporetto stop a couple of minutes away.

The room that we had (Carlo Goldoni) was small and beautifully furnished, but everything was there and what 'made' the hotel was the friendliness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The buffet breakfasts were excellent, and if you were lucky, you could have it on the terrace in the sunshine, watching the hustle and bustle on the canal.

If you like a small, friendly, well-positioned hotel, this is the place to stay in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

it was a return visit to canal grande for my husbands 65th birthday and our friends celebrated their ruby wedding.What a wonderful hotel with first class staff..Giovana welcomed us and offered an upgrade. The restaurant staff were so attentive,remembering our preferences for breakast. We came back one day to find in our room chocolate cake for my husband and complementary bottle of prosecco.Our friends were thrilled by the service received. What a memorable trip..Venice in all its splendour and Canal Grande,the ONLY place to stay. We look forward to a third stay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I am a travel agent and hence have the pick of the bunch of hotels on offer and wow did I pick the best at the canal grande
From the moment you arrive the lovely staff are there to make your stay memorable
The position is fantastic the decor very tasteful with original murano glass and Venetian furniture you actually feel you are staying in your own palazzo which is the unique factor
The rooms are beautiful especially the canal view suites which are to die for!! These can accommodate a family also
The breakfast was yummy with an array of goodies and as I am gluten free they presented me with a lovely assortments of extras which was a treat
The terrace overlooking the grande canal was so special watching the hustle bustle of everyday life on the canal and where the water taxi delivers you to and a great place to have breakfast or aperitifs I can recommend their delicious local wines
Venice is a magical city and hotel canal grande makes it so
There is so much to see and do that you feel you have to return
So put it in your to do one day list but don't leave it to the last minute or they will be booked up!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in a room located in the extension to the hotel. A small terraced traditional house within the square by the hotel. The room was superb. Perhaps a little small but that is the way of things in venice. The decor was absolutely superb, just as the website pictures show, drapes and wall coverings all in fabric, a marble floored and tiled ensuing with a selection of soaps etc and a fitted hair drier. Towers slippers and towels. The bed linen was changed every day, not just making the bed but actually changed linen. Nice quiet AIRCON. The breakfast served in the main hotel was self service from a selection of meats, cheeses , breads, jams, biscuits and more. Tea, coffee etc , whatever you want. There is as all terrace outside and over the water, great for a drink in the evening or eating snacks etc during the day. The staff were excellent, knowledgeable and helpful.
So easy to get about in venice , google maps is most helpful if you have a smart phone or use the map free from the hotel. Eating out is a simple task of wandering around and finding the establishment that you wish to eat at. There is a fair amount of choice. We ate superb pizza pasta type meals with beer and wine for two for around 30 to 40 euros a pop. A good quality starter and main with a bottle of wine, away from the water front for around the 90 euro mark.
The public transport, bus and boats are excellent. Transfer from airport by ACTV Bus 6 euros each and takes about 25 mins. A day pas for the system cost 18 Euros give access to the canal on the river bus , hop on and off all day. Superb and considerably cheaper than the river taxis ( very pricey) I tis not cheap but it's a really lovely, unmissable place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.