We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent five nights at this hotel and had a wonderful time. After the first night we upgraded to a junior suite at a cost of only $30 euros extra per night and it was terrific. Giovanna and the staff were first rate and couldn't do enough for us- from restaurant recommendations to arranging airport transfer. Breakfasts were fine and you could order hot dishes if you liked. WiFi worked fine. The hotel is located in a quiet area but is very convenient to two vaporetto stops. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    204
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
200
945
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I'm hesitant to review this hotel because I want to keep it all for myself. This is a 5 star hotel in a quiet piazza watching the noise and activity of Venice from across the canal. The staff were so nice and helpful, always smiling and offering helpful suggestions of places to visit and little restaurants for dinner ( try Antica Besseta for dinner - nearby but hard to find in the dark). We upgraded our room to a canal view which was lovely. The rooms are beautiful and well equipped. We would have liked tea and coffee making facilities - evidently these will be added soon. We breakfasted on their jetty each morning, starting to get chilly in November but we were blessed with sunny mornings and a hot coffee. If I'm ever back in Venice, I know where I'll be staying :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I wanted something extraordinary for our one night stay in Venice before boarding our cruise ship and we got it in this hotel. Not far from the train station and right on the Grande Canal you could not ask for a better location. We had a beautiful room with a side terrace that allowed us to experience the sights and sounds of the canal. The bathroom was modern and everything was squeaky clean. The breakfast was beautifully served with views of the canal both inside and out. The staff were so friendly and accommodating and made a suggestion for us to get to the cruise ship that prevented us from having to cart luggage. In addition as I was settling our account at the front desk the phone rang. It was housekeeping telling us we had left our travel documents and passports in the safe. We will be forever grateful. This hotel felt as comfortable as home.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleForna, Manager at Hotel Canal Grande, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
what can we answer ???

Thank You, thank you, thank you!!!!

We really hope to welcome you back in the next future
and we wish you all the best!

Regards,
Alessandro Fornasier
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My partner and I didn't have the best experience when we arrived in Venice. My partner had left his wallet on the bus and after hours of waiting it wasn't returned. Lets just say by the time we got to the Hotel neither of us was in a very good mood but the second we were greeted by the staff at Hotel Canal Grande that changed.

The hotel itself is in a great location and is only a 5-10 minute walk (with luggage) from the bus terminal (over 2 bridges).
The reception area is welcoming with lovely pieces of furniture and decor. The staff are so professional and pleasant to deal with and they are able to tell you all you need to know about getting around Venice.

Our room was just beautiful. We couldn't find a fault. It was clean, comfortable, was a great size, the bathroom had lots of space and a really great shower. The bed was comfortable which is also really important when travelling.
The room also had a mini bar, safe and air conditioning.

Wifi is available throughout the entire hotel and if you need to store your luggage after checking out the hotel also offer this service.

This is such a perfect little hotel in such a beautiful city. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Venice

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Canova Room, which has a side terrace and a view of the Grand Canal. It was quiet enough for us to sleep with the terrace door open, although we then had a visiting mosquito. The room was comfortable and the bathroom clean and modern, if small. The breakfast was excellent. However , for us the stand out item was the exceptionally helpful front desk staff. Our room rate also included a free trip by water taxi to visit a glass factory on Murano, which we enjoyed very much. The location is great and is close to a wide choice of good restaurants

Room Tip: The Canova room enjoys a side terrace with three chairs and a table. Ideal for early evening drinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had two rooms for our one night in Venice and we wanted it to be a memorable Venetian experience - and it really was. The location is very good; right on the Grand Canal we accessed the hotel by water taxi and as well by Vaporetti (it is steps from the water-bus stop). The staff is extremely skilled, helpful and friendly - they speak multiple languages and are ready to lend assistance, any time. The hotel itself is quite beautiful; the rooms are exquisitely appointed - large marble bathrooms, modern showers and amenities; there are modern televisions in the rooms but they have been secreted away so not to blemish the beautiful, classical decor. We had one room overlooking the canal and one room overlooking the courtyard. They were both very, very lovely. Breakfast is included and it was very nice; you can have your cappuccino on the small veranda on the grand canal. A brilliant stay. Will recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our short break in Venice. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. Our room was beautiful, clean, well equipped and furnished in a style to match the ambience of the hotel. The breakfast was very generous with plenty of choice.
A small welcoming hotel in a lovely classical city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.