We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place. Amazing Location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Place. Amazing Location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights when proposing to my now wife! The hotel is in a great location - you think it may not be central enough but it is perfect, near transport routes in, and walkable to everywhere within 5 mins - and you want to walk around venice and the side straights - as well as the water taxis, which is right on the hotels doorstep.

Lovely looking hotel, new but chic and very venice - so pleased it is getting great ratings - great staff and perfect place - and not too expensive compared to others. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    224
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
216
1,009
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late September. The hotel was easy enough to find when we arrived in Venice. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome and relaxed. Everything was made very clear to us and we were shortly being shown around our very well appointed (if a bit small) suite.

Location wise - its not bad - but has relatively easy access to the main water bus stops heading in both directions.

Our room was towards the back away from the Canal itself - which can be extremely noisy at all ours of the night - so worth bearing this in mind!!

The entire hotel was very clean and pleasant and for us the staff were the clear highlight!

Room Tip: Don't book one with a canal view unless you like the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for six nights. Absolutely enjoyed every minute of our time in Venice; this hotel was one of the reasons. Not far from the train and bus station (if that's how you come to Venice -- we came by plane), it is within walking distance of most of the major attractions. Staff were pleasant, helpful and courteous; we ate at four of their recommended restaurants and were not disappointed. Staff even helped us print our boarding passes the day before we left. Room was well appointed; service was great; included continental breakfast was -- well -- included. All in all, a wonderful hotel if you're looking for first class lodging in Venice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Canal are more expensive; rooms overlooking the campo not as pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

At Hotel Canal Grande, we opted for a prestige junior suite. It was a lovely room with a sitting area, a bit tight for space in parts because of the period furnishings, and overlooked the laneways. It did not have a view of the Grande Canal, which we knew when we booked, and as a consequence it was very quiet and peaceful. All in all, we were very happy with the junior suite. On arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Giovana; the welcome could not have been better. All the staff here are marvellous. A couple of suggestions were made for restaurants for dinner; we tried the first one and did not eat anywhere else for the 6 nights we were there. The alla Ferrata was just so wonderful. Excellent food, very good wine, lovely staff, and owner and chef who treated us like family; and all at very reasonable prices. Three minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel and this restaurant just made us want to come back and soon! The breakfasts at the Canal Grande are not fancy but quite adequate; they have limited space. There is enough of everything you need for breakfast and the main waiter and staff are excellent. The breakfast included in the room rate is cold: eggs, ham, salad, plus all the trimmings; if you want a hot cooked breakfast, it is a few extra Euros a la carte (but really not necessary). The coffees are excellent. A bonus is the little outside balcony on the Canal; breakfast out there on a nice day was precious. Also good for a drink after a weary day; we would sit out and relax with a drink from the bar. Needless to say, the barman was also excellent. We would not stay anywhere else in Venice. We will be back.

Room Tip: Prestige Junior suite if you want quiet and not a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a recent visit to Venice and enjoyed our stay at Hotel Canal Grande. The location is perfect, right across from the train station. If you have heavy luggage pay for a porter to help you get it to the hotel as the bridge over the canal has no ramp just a lot of stairs. If you get a chance spend time on the balcony and watch Venice float by. The staff at the hotel was very helpful with suggestions, maps and directions. Our room was small but well appointed and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited the Hotel Canal Grande in late August. We were taking our adult children to Italy as a gift to them and us.The hotel service was excellent from reservations to departure. Our daughter became engaged there and so this hotel will be a lovely memory for many years. We sat outside on the little balcony late in to our first night. It was quiet and romantic and so relaxing after our long flight. The rooms were lovely. Really it was a wonderful hotel and we would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Located by the canal and close to the train station it`s a nice option. Breakfast in a balcony by the canal and good service at the front desk. We placed (and payed) for a room with a canal view but it was not available. They "upgraded" us to a small and nice junior suite with was fine but we were expecting the view, which was the reason of our hotel selection.

Room Tip: Confirm your room location prior to arrival !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace
The Gritti Palace
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,746 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli
Hotel Danieli
#88 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.