We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of a hotel on the Grand Canal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Jewel of a hotel on the Grand Canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for two days in August 2013. Beautiful small hotel with exceptional staff and a great spot for breakfast with three small tables on a pontoon actually on the Canal. The Hotel is on the opposite side of the Canal towards San Marco from the railway station - in fact so close a taxi boat refused to take us there! The only thing to watch if you want a Canal view is that we were given the Casanova room (yes I know) which does have a view but from a rather small window rather than beautiful French windows. That said they charge less for the Casanova room and it is higher up quiet. I you want a beautiful view to contemplate then go for a room on the second floor or a suite on the first (but check with the bank manager first).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    224
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
216
1,012
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My new wife (honeymoon) and I chose this place after reading the great reviews and Canal Grande Hotel has lived up to it's high rating! Quite location right on the Grand Canal and a block away from a bridge that takes you across the Canal to the San Lucia train station and Ferrovia water bus stop. Service is excellent. Front desk lined up private water taxi at very reasonable rate and the dining recommendations where perfect. They really look after you here. Room, bed and bathroom great. Can't beat it. Hot as blazes here in Aug but we're sorry to be leaving this gem of a hotel tomorrow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three days and it was a perfect base for exploring Venice. Everything about the hotel was top class - the room, breakfast, the location but above all fantastic service from a brilliant staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights visiting the city. The hotel is in a great location near the train station and bus station, close to the less crowded area north of the main canal with lots of restaurants and still within just 20 minutes walking distance to Rialto and San Marco. Service and hospitality is great and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable in an antique style.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

After a twenty-four day cruise we spent an extra day in Venice and stayed here. As we checked in, we were immediately given glasses of ice water and invited to sit down and let them know what we would like to do while we were there. I asked if they would reconfirm our pick-up for the water taxi to the airport the next day. Done. We said that we would love to go to the Musica a Palazzo that evening to see La Traviata, which is a wonderful experience to see an opera in an old palazzo where the audience of approximately forty people moves from room to room to view each act with a champagne break between each act. Done. When we left that evening we were given excellent direction of where to get off the vaparatto and where to walk from there. We said, too, that we would love to see Murano. A phone call was made and within a few minutes a free water taxi was on its way to pick us up. The water taxi is provided by the glass company in Murano and our receptionist did tell us that. We toured the glass company, which we had done years before and chose not to purchase anything. We then left by a back gate and wandered the island and had a great lunch at a restaurant, the name of which I don't recall, and took a vaparatto back to the hotel.
We had a clean and lovely room at the hotel and a nice breakfast the next morning while sitting on a deck on the Grand Canal. So many wonderful experiences that we might not have had had we not stayed there. We would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Canal Grande for 4 nights in July. I can summarize our stay with one word: Perfect. The location was away from the congestion of SAn Marco Square, where there is gondola gridlock, but just across the Scalzi Bridge a short walk to the train station, shops in that area and the Ghetto. The hotel was impeccably clean, and gorgeously furnished. The air conditioning, which could be controlled form the room, was efficient and quiet. The bed was firm and comfortable giving us a restful night after long days of walking. The breakfast buffet was ample, fresh and tasty, with selection of meats, cheese, yogurt breads and incredible pastries. The small deck on the the Grand Canal was a picturesque breakfast spot and spot to relax at the end of the day.
Best of all was the helpful and congenial staff. Everyone spoke Engilsh, were polite and went out of their way to help us. I will recommend to my friends who may be traveling to Venice. Our visit there was enhanced by our stay at the Hotel Canal Grande. By the way, the hotel and rooms are accurately set forth on the website and actually exceeded expectations.

Room Tip: Canal view is great, we had two different rooms as we split our stay up with a visit to Verona and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel in early July 2013. We arrived by train from Milan and only had to walk for a few minutes to reach the hotel, very convenient.
We were greeted like long lost cousins and introduced to all the staff on duty at the time.
We were told that we had booked the basic room so we didn't expect much, how wrong we could be, if this was basic I'd love to see the better rooms. The room was amazing with upholstered walls, not wallpaper but upholstered, and a very comfortable canopied bed and a lovely bathroom all in perfect condition.
We had a very nice continental breakfast each morning which set us up for a busy day exploring this fabulous city. On a couple of occasions we had afternoon tea at the hotel and without us having to ask they brought us a very nice plate of pastries without charge.
This was the best hotel we stayed in while in Europe and can’t wait to visit Venice and this hotel again.
If we could we would give this hotel a rating of 11 out of 10.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace
The Gritti Palace
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,747 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli
Hotel Danieli
#88 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.