We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel to take my parents away for their 35th wedding anniversary based on availability for bank holiday (i left it a little late) but also the great TA ratings! I wanted something with a wow factor but without the hefty price tag for bank holiday weekend getaways. Yes this hotel wasnt cheap, but when compared to others, it really is a gem!

We booked a prestige room for me and hubby and a junior suite for my parents. Both were exactly what i hoped for! Actually the prestige room was a lot bigger than i expected! And the bathroom was bigger than the one in the junior suite. No biggie but my parents did giggle at that fact! The decor is classical venetian - and why not if you're in Venice?! We didnt pay to have a canal view and really you dont need to because you will see it the moment you step out of the hotel anyway!

Location was also great. We took the no5 aerobus from the airport which took 20 minutes to get to the main bus station and then its a further 10 minute walk. Really easy journey - it would be hard to justify the ?25pp charge by water taxi which takes an hour! And getting into the main tourist hub is only 10 minutes by water bus.

The great thing about this hotel was the staff - always smiling and willing to help; and the location - close enough to everything but without the tourist hub price tag and the rooms are much more spacious!

As we were literally only there to sleep and have breakfast, i really cant fault it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    212
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
205
978
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The location is excellent, on the Grand Canal close to vaporetto stops and train station without being an intrusion, making this an ideal location for Venice. The accomodation was spectacular, with rooms that have the wow factor. To compliment this the staff were friendly and provided excellent service and were more than happy to accomodate our needs. Overall a highly recommended hotel that we would happily return to, fully justifying its prominence on trip advisor. There are plenty of restaurants and shops close by just across a near by bridge.Who ever started the comment "it is worth getting lost to find the real Venice" was so right, this is highly recommended!.

Room Tip: We had a choice of rooms, and would have been equally as happy in any.They were all to a high standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just completed our second stay in this wonderful small hotel. Our room was very Venetian and directly overlooked the Grand Canal. Splendid modern bathroom and comfortable furnishings. Nice breakfast (included) in the morning which may be taken on a deck on the canal. However, the best part is the staff. They are collectively the best hotel staff I have ever met. Terrific restaurant recommendation and general travel information, amazingly friendly. A nice location away for the busy tourist hubbub but very close to two water bus stops. If you take private water taxi from the airport (or cruise terminal) you will be delivered directly to the hotel dock.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We all have visions and expectations of what our experience would be like after watching "The Tourist". My expectations were exceeded when I visited Venice and was fortunate to stay in a lovely and comfortable hotel. I was a solo traveler, my room had a twin bed decorated in Venetian style and large bathroom with marble floor, I loved overlooking the canal from the shuttered terrace.
The hotel was friendly and so close to everything for walking, shopping, dining and I even went to a local hair salon, the man was amazing, as you walked out of the hotel to the right go towards the bridge and take the street to the right of the bridge. he is on the right.

Room Tip: room facing the canal beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in April.
The staff are so welcoming and the room overlooking the Grand Canal was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated.
The Hotel is situated away from the bustle of the busy areas, but within easy reach of everything you need.
Venice is a must see City and this hotel is an ideal base for a short break.
Excellent.

Room Tip: Definitely worth booking in advance to secure a room with views over the Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed; it was not in the main building but in a 'house' in the same square. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful and did everything they could to make our stay a pleasant experience. The accommodation added to the enjoyment of our trip. We were looking for somewhere comfortable and away from the St Mark's Square hubbub and this suited us perfectly. We would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I can not say enough about the comfort, elegance and hospitality of this small hotel on waters edge. The rooms are elegantly appointed in Venetian decor; with a shuttered terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. The bathrooms were a treat, compared to most European bathrooms...large,marble, over the top showers and heated towels and elegant toiletries etc. The hotel is very small, but the accommodations are immaculate, intimate, romantic and I felt like I was being pampered. (which is nice at my age). The staff are amazing and appear to really enjoy their work. The best hotel we stayed in in Europe. My daughter treated me to this incredible vacation in February 2010 and she sure picked a gem in this hotel ... but if I ever get to travel to Italy again, which I dream I will, without a doubt this is the hotel I will return to!

Room Tip: The two story suite is amazing, but all rooms I saw were so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.