We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #7 of 383 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned back from a weekend break in Venice the service at the hotel from the reception to the people who served breakfast was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was lovely, the hotel is well situated near some lovely restaurants. I travel the world with my job and the personal service at this hotel has been one of the best, they make you feel like one of the family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    189
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
188
871
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peripatetic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It's awkward to write a review of this hotel, because it's such a beautiful property, so convenient, and staffed by the most superb employees. It's impeccably maintained and every member of the staff deserves an award. The downside - and it was huge for us - is that we required separate (hence twin) beds. The "twin" beds were so tiny that it was impossible even to turn over during the night. You had to find one position and stick to it (obviously impossible). It's absolutely absurd since, although the rooms are small, there was plenty of room for normal sized twin beds. It doesn't seem to have occurred to the talented designer of the rooms that the main reason you need a hotel room is for the purpose of SLEEP. The beds provided are only suitable for children. However, if you require a full size bed, or are traveling alone, you will probably find this hotel as good as any hotel in Venice, or virtually anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleForna, General Manager at Hotel Canal Grande, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for the nice review,
we are very pleased to know that you liked our hotel and our service.

About our single beds, they are 02,00 x 0,85 meters (6.56168 x 2.78871 foot)
which is a regular size in Italy.

We are really sorry you considered our beds very small and unconfortable,
their size is a regular size and we bought one of the best quality on the market.

Venice is a particular city, it is unique
and hotels are located into historical building,
then we have to adapt our rooms to the buildings and even our beds to the rooms.

We know that in some hotels you can find larger single beds,
but they are not single beds they are double beds used as single beds.

In any case,
we really hope to welcome you back in our property
ready to book you a double room with a double bed only for you!!!

Always at your disposal,
best regards,
Alessandro Fornasier
Manager
Hotel Canal Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Vecently renovated with high standards . Very convenient location on the grand canal near two vaporetto stops an a 10 minute walk from the bus terminal.We stayed there 6 nights and are very satisfied with our room overlooking the canal, the delicious and very complete breakfast buffet.The personnel is very wam and friendly, fluent in both english and french.We highly recommend this hotel and would certainly return there on our next trip to Venice: do not let the distance from St-Marc impress you because the vaporetto will take you there quickly and you can also stroll there easily through colourfull small streets and alleys.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal: we were kindly upgraded to the Casanova room situated on the uppermost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel and its staff, they were so attentive. I absolutely loved the style and decoration of the hotel with its marble floors and attention to detail. Our room was the "Canaletto Room" and it was the prettiest most romantic room I've ever stayed in. It made the Venice experience for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Jetted my partner to venice for a surprise birthday treat in July 12 and decided to book this place having seen favourable reviews. I was not disappointed.

Staff: Exceptionally friendly and accommodating. I don't know how many times I called from England prior to travelling...but it was a lot. They assisted with my every request ranging from questions on the weather to travel guidance to putting a rose in the room for me etc. Whenever I emailed, they emailed back straight away and they also gave me a lovely room - The Dogressa - which overlooks the main canal. My partner loved it!

Location: Within walking distance to everything..though this may be typical of plenty of Venice hotels given the size of the place. That being said, location is pretty much faultless and it's definitely better being on the main canal compared to a small side canal.

Rooms. Spacious enough, well decorated and clean.

Breakfast: There is a small veranda out on the canal which is a nice place to eat breakfast. However, it only holds two tables. I was always lucky enough to eat there but given the size, it's not guaranteed. Breakfast itself was a selection of cold meats, cheeses and baked produce. Nice enough.

The hotel itself: Additional bonus is the free trip they thrown in to Moreno glass factory which is well worth the visit and is a nice touch. The hotel arrange for a private taxi to take you which I loved. The boy in me came out and driver actually let me drive it all the way to the factory once we were outside the centre of venice - had to drop some "subtle" hints though!

All in all, a very nice stay, one which I cannot fault. The only reason it doesn't get a 5* is that although being very nice, it doesn't offer any facilities over and above what you would expect. However, it delivers on what it offers!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Hotel Canal Grande and cannot say enough good things about it.

The hotel is simply beautiful, from the elegant yet cozy first floor to our beautifully furnished room. Our room had marble floors with lovely carpets and was furnished with fine fabric on the walls, a romantic bed, and wonderful furniture. We had a secretary in our room. The television was tastefully hidden behind a mirror, but easy to use. The bathroom had lots of marble and fine tile, and the shower had multiple fixtures, including a rainhead shower that supplied plentiful hot water.

The staff made us feel virtually at home immediately. We had contact with several members over our stay and each greeted us like friends and welcome guests. One example: They apparently realized from my wife's passport that one of our days was her birthday. We arrived back to our room to find flowers, along with a nice birthday note.

There is a "continental breakfast", but it was a bit more than that with multiple choices and various cheeses, meats, and fruits.

The location is very good. It is about a 10-minute walk from the train station (and Piazza Roma, where ground vehicles like land taxis or buses must stop), yet because it is across one or two canals, it is in a relatively private location. It is about a 5 minute walk to 2 different vaporetto stops, so getting around is relatively easy. We could walk to the Rialto Bridge in 15-20 minutes, but truthfully we kept stopping along the way to look at churches or to explore alleys so it sometimes took longer.

Venice is a wonderful city and the Hotel Canal Grande is a perfect place to stay while enjoying it.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the Grand Canal, which supplied endless visual interest at any time of day, yet pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I'll keep this short: A first class experience from the moment we arrived. A beautifully furnished room with all the modern touches you'd expect, including a Mirror TV........

The breakfast was great and in great surroundings with stunning views of the Canal.

All the staff were incredibly friendly and professional.

Stop reading reviews and book this hotel......:)

Room Tip: Academia is a great prestige room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.