We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel does really deserve its award traveller's choice!!

We had a room overlooking the canal and I was up everyday at 7 enchanted by the boats that deliver the laundry, salad, etc. to the hotel that is across the canal.

You can live Venice out of the window. We will definitely come back with the kids.

And Giovanna, at the front desk, is a very nice person who has the intention: to make you feel not only as a guest, but a bit more like a friend. And you do feel like a friend when you leave!! And want to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal..and wake up early to see the woking boats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    204
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
200
944
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for four nights to celebrate my 30th Birthday and we have nothing but praise for this wonderful hotel! Only a ten minute walk from the bus station, the hotel is in a great location. The staff at the hotel gave us a fabulous welcome and we instantly knew we had made the right choice. The receptionist gave us a map of the area and circled places of interest. Our room was stunning- spotless, very romantic and cosy. Breakfast was delicious- continental but plenty of choice. The hotel was a short walk away from the main tourist area but we liked this as it gave us chance to explore the city and discover the traditional Venice way of life. They also have a nice little bar where the drinks are very reasonably priced. Overall, I cannot fault the hotel and the wonderful staff and we will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stunning hotel, really would recommend to anyone. Very romantic. Food was also amazing and reasonably priced. Great location, walking distance to all attractions, and on the canal of course which is a plus.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Beautiful rooms & bathrooms, delightful small dining room foyer and deck on Grand Canal, excellent & attentive service, fantastic location on grand canal but away from maddening crowds, quiet & charming; walk through interesting lanes and lovely shopping & eating surprises over the Rialto, into the shopping district and on to St. Marcus square in 20 mins. Definitely one of our most enjoyed hotel stays. Take their free taxi trip to Murano Island it's so interesting and good fun. When leaving give the water taxi a miss at EU200 to airport drop off which leaves still a long walk to your terminal, instead the hotel will arrange a porter for around EU20, to take you in 15 mins to bus depot for a comfortable very inexpensive bus ride to drop you outside your terminal, all up it cost the two of us less than EU40. We paid about $40 extra to get a view over Grand Canal & it was worth it, super. I think only breakfast is available but area has fantastic eating choices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel was in a good location within walking distance to basically everything. The staff was the best part of the hotel, they were warm and very helpful. The rooms had a Venetian (canopy bed/drapey) decor and were quiet at night. The downside to our room was that it smelled like campfire the entire time we were there. There is a small bar in the lobby of the hotel, which allowed my husband and I to meet other couples traveling in Venice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We enjoyed staying here -- we were looking for a great boutique hotel, good location, at a price point we could live with. This place fits the bill -- we liked the location as it's a bit off the beaten path and the crowds, but still on the Canal. And near the train station. It's a short, but nice walk to touristy areas. The staff is wonderful -- really helpful and thoughtful. The rooms are small which was a small problem with our bags, we had three or more, so never really unpacked and had to step over luggage. But the hotel was quiet and we slept great. I'd stay again, if luggage weren't part of the equation next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Canal Grande is an excellent hotel and I am glad my wife and I decided to stay here for our honeymoon trip to Italy. It is a small cozy hotel located right opposite the Santa Lucia railway station and has a Vaporetto stop right next door.
The hotel is well set up with spacious rooms which are well decorated. Rooms do not have room numbers but have a name with each room having a painting as per the name. The bed was big and comfortable, bathroom was big and with all amenities, cleanliness left nothing to be desired, room service and food was great and the hotel provided you with utmost privacy.
Breakfast is served on the ground floor right next to the canal. Although the spread is limited but the food is great. The staff goes out of the way to help you and to make you feel at home. This was my 2nd trip to Venice and I can tell you how much difference a good hotel makes to your trip to the city. Loved it. Want to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.