We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in early December - the reviews on this site are correct. Staff were friendly, helpful and go out of their way to make your stay special!! Couldn't fault the hotel and would strongly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    205
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
201
954
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel provided a wondeful experience for my wife and I when we stayed for 2 nights recently. The location is great - central and a short walk from the main railway station (where there is also a water-bus stop. Upon arrival on a cold evening, we were warmly greeted and immediately felt welcomed. We were shown to our room which was small but beautifully formed - a bit like the entire hotel really. The decoration is very traditional, but with all modern conveniences. Service at the hotel is impeccable - it just cannot be faulted. The staff are extremely friendly and polite/ Upon hearing that my wife was celebrating her birthday a bottle of prosecco immediately appeared - a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This a is very special property that when you arrive can make you feel slightly over awed. This feeling soon disappears when the exceptionally well trained and friendly staff start communicating with you. We had a super three days stay here where the food and service was exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I spent two nights at the Hotel Canal Grande last week and had a fantastic stay. The hotel could not be more typically Venetian if it tried! My room was smallish (Typical of most Venetian Hotels) but very comfortable and furnished in traditional Venetian style. The Staff are first class and extremely friendly. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal fancing room, If you drive to Venice avoid the expensive river taxis the hotel is so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Mother and daughter travelling. We loved this hotel!! Would definately stay here again. So close to the rail station, easier to get to by water than on foot because of the bridge. One stop to the left by water, or over the bridge to the left by foot. Staff are fantastic.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Free wifi, breakfast, and a good location. Well appointed rooms. We stayed in annex in San Geremia 406. Outstanding staff. Will stay here again on next trip to Venezia. Good selections for breakfast and very close to train terminal.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A little late but couldn't let it pass to write a review for this hotel. We stayed there from Oct. 25th to the 28th and I just have a single word to describe it: "excellent". Little dissapointed we couldn't get a room facing the canal, we stayed at the annex building behind it with no view at all, just an alley facing another building from the second floor. The room was beautiful decorated, loved the shower and the staff was very professional and helpful at all times. They were very pleasant every morning serving breakfast, very helpful with advices about places to go and even helped us carrying our bags to the vaporetto station lending us weather boots since the "aqua alta" was starting to rise. Very close to the train station,( have in mind you have to cross 2 bridges to get there if planning to take a lot of luggage) with lots of places to eat more affordable than the main center. Definitely a place that I would consider to stay again if returning to Venice ( and I'm planning to next year).

Room Tip: Ask specifically for availability of a room facing the canal if possible. Our room in the annex buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Grande is a charming boutique hotel located in Ca' Polacco, an elegant little palace which has just been restored. The furniture of the hotel is characterised by the elegance of Rococo style, typical of 18th century Venice. The lobby with its rose marble fireplace, the breakfast room with its golden mirrors, and the bar with its Venetian red velvet armchairs overlook the Grand Canal and are the best places where to begin and end a day! The small terrace on the Grand Canal gives our Guests the possibility to have a drink in a special setting and to "breathe the air of the canal"!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.