We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal Grande

Save Saved
You added Hotel Canal Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 381 hotels in Venice
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good location, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Free wifi, breakfast, and a good location. Well appointed rooms. We stayed in annex in San Geremia 406. Outstanding staff. Will stay here again on next trip to Venezia. Good selections for breakfast and very close to train terminal.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    909
    157
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
157
746
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A little late but couldn't let it pass to write a review for this hotel. We stayed there from Oct. 25th to the 28th and I just have a single word to describe it: "excellent". Little dissapointed we couldn't get a room facing the canal, we stayed at the annex building behind it with no view at all, just an alley facing another building from the second floor. The room was beautiful decorated, loved the shower and the staff was very professional and helpful at all times. They were very pleasant every morning serving breakfast, very helpful with advices about places to go and even helped us carrying our bags to the vaporetto station lending us weather boots since the "aqua alta" was starting to rise. Very close to the train station,( have in mind you have to cross 2 bridges to get there if planning to take a lot of luggage) with lots of places to eat more affordable than the main center. Definitely a place that I would consider to stay again if returning to Venice ( and I'm planning to next year).

Room Tip: Ask specifically for availability of a room facing the canal if possible. Our room in the annex buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

What a great experience this hotel provides in location, staff, quality, everything. If you stay here you will love it. The staff is exceptional and is a great source of ideas and assistance. Ask for a room that faces the Grand Canal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The best features of this hotel are the location and the helpful staff. It is a short walk from the train station. You will learn to appreciate this after you see tourists dragging their luggage all over Venice to get to their hotels. The staff is very polite and helpful. They seem to really want to make sure that you have a pleasant stay. Our room was small, but had everything we could need for our stay. Breakfast was nicely laid out and the hotel has all the amenities you could need. Not sure if every hotel is Venice, is this quite, but it was the best sleep we got in Italy.

One word of warning is to understand the included trip to Murano will take you to a glass factory that, after a nice demonstration of the glass blowing, will try to get you buy their very high priced artwork. If you are a collector, this might be what you want, but if you are looking for simple souvenirs, you want to skip the factory and head to look around on your own,

Room Tip: With no traffic, all rooms are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We travelled to the hotel from the airport by private water taxi, which was a memorable way to get our first views of Venice. On arriving at the hotel we were shown our room, but it was not the room we booked. I had specifically requested a room with a view over the canal. What we got was a room with a view of the canal if you looked out of the window to the right – not what we wanted. I made my displeasure known to the duty manager, Alessandro. He was very calm and said he could not do anything until the next day as the hotel was full. He was very charming, and calmed me down. As promised we were moved the next morning to a suite with a view over the Grand Canal at no extra charge. We were very happy. The staff recommended some very nice places to eat off the beaten track where we had some good food at reasonable prices. The breakfast was good. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on 1st floor facing the canal are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eumundi, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our first impression was of warm, friendly and very helpful staff, and it simply got even better from then on! A query about the heating/cooling malfunctioning had someone at the door within 2 minutes of my call, for instance). The hotel is beautifully furnished, while our room (Room 101) was extremely comfortable and big enough for 2 people not to be tripping over each other. From the photos, I had expected the bathroom to be quite small and pokey, but was pleasantly surprised by the size.

I liked the location a lot. Away from the tourist crowds yet the central points are readily accessible by Vaparetto or by walking (20 minutes to St Marks Square).

It's not your typical one of a chain hotel and did have a few "quirks" - the already mentioned air conditioning, the temperature control for the shower which baffled me throughout, plus it was possible to hear some canal traffic.

But this was part of the charm. My overriding impression was of staying at a friend's luxury house; we met a coupe who had stayed here previously, they were passing through Venice on a cruise and dropped in to say hello the "their friends" (i.e. the staff). Very highly recommended and I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: 1. Canal facing rooms are noisier. 2. The ONLY way to arrive in style is by water taxi. If you come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a fantastic choice for a weekend away in Venice. The hotel is easily located from the Airport on the Grand Canal (5/10 min walk from the airport bus plaza [Piazzale Roma]).

The room was fantastic, like stepping back in time with a gorgeous view overlooking the canal. It was easy to walk to all the sights or get a river taxi if necessary.

What made the trip though was the superb front desk staff who were so friendly and made such good recommendations for dinner that we took their advice on three occasions and were not disappointed at all. They gave us a range of cool options based on how formal, pricey, local/international food etc. It was brilliant.

We were also there when Venice flooded badly, and the hotel staff gave us a late check out. During breakfast we saw that unfortunately the hotel across the canal was not so lucky as the Hotel Canal Grande and was flooded to waist level! By 2pm the water was low enough for us to leave the hotel and wander around.

Overall, after staying in hotels throughout Asia and Europe for work and pleasure this year, this hotel was my favourite.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor with a canal view and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal Grande

Address: Santa Croce, 932 | Campo San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 381 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canal Grande 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.