We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Palazzo Odoni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Palazzo Odoni to your Saves list
Residence Palazzo Odoni
Santa Croce, 151 | Fondamenta Minotto, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #29 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I am one of a group of three ladies "of a certain age" who enjoyed our stay at Residence Palazzo Odoni and were charmed by the antiquity of the residence, as well as by the hospitality offered by its owner/manager, Michele. Yes, there are stairs to negotiate but we didn't regard them as overly daunting. Michele carried our bags up to our apartment on arrival, and downstairs on departure; very helpful, indeed. We chose to stay where we could absorb the character of the real Venice and were not disappointed. Also, the location is close to transport, a wonderful bakery, a smallgoods store, and eateries abound. Michele also made us aware of the existence of a porter to transport our luggage to the Terminus which was so much less expensive than the water taxi we used on arrival. A charming sojourn in Venice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Michele was excellent, he was very helpful. He even gave his iphone charger to charge our phones. He also gave us some tips to move around the city. The only problem is you have to climb the stairs to your room. Heavy packers beware. It is an antique hotel. The jacuzzi was great, kids loved it. Didn't eat breakfast as we had taken an apartment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Residence Palazzo Odoni was wonderful. A few days before we were due to arrive, Michele emailed me asking our arrival time, so he could meet us personally, which he did. He even helped me with my suitcase.

The rooms are very spacious. Combined lounge/dining/kitchen area with the bedroom off it. The bathroom was also very nice with a jet tub. We had a room that overlooked the canal, which was nice.The walk from the station was ok. Just remeber, there are a few bridges to cross. Walking around Venice was quite easy from the hotel though.

Overall, I enjoyed our stay here and would come back. Thank you for a lovely few days in Venice.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights, 3 nights in 1 room then 1 night in another, with 3 days in Rome in between. Michele was nice enough to keep one of our suitcases while we went to Rome by train so we didn't have to lug extra bags. He even gave us a free upgrade on our last night in Italy! Thanks Michele! (His dog, Charlotte, is also a sweetheart!!)

Helpful?
Thank Tofurry
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The apartment we rented was clean and as described...modern bathroom in a classic Venetian apartment. The manager was helpful and available and the building (especially the entrance/courtyard) is beautiful. The location is extremely convenient to the cruise port, buses, and train station and the neighborhood is pleasantly far enough away from the crowds.
There all also suites/rooms at this location (which includes breakfast - not included with an apartment) so if the extra space and/or kitchen isn't a big deal to you, you may want to inquire about those.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I had read all the reviews and booked this apartment for our last weekend in Italy. I found that it is a large space with nice air conditioning and it is close to both the train station and the bus station.
But the jacuzzi tub was very old and would not open and close. The weekend night porter was less than helpful. He suggested that we pry it open and notify the manager on Monday. The regular manager is not available on weekends. There is an unpatched hole in the floor of the dining area.
There is an attached suites hotel with the same name that was serving breakfast only to their guests. This manager was helpful and kind even though we were not staying there. However, he is not allowed to serve apartment guests.
They do not allow the apartment guests to buy their breakfasts. If you planned on cooking there in the apt, it is a very long way to any groceries. There are also a huge amount of steps to lug your luggage or groceries up and down.
We wished we had stayed in the hotel and suites rather than the apartment which does not live up to the photos. It is much more worn. It is also located far away from most of what you want to see in Venice. I am certain that the other reviews and photos are not from our particular apartment. For the charges paid, this is not worth the money unless you just want to be close to the train station.
I was very disappointed and I do not think it deserves good ratings. All 3 of our other hotels in this price range were outstanding in Italy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micuz, Owner at Residence Palazzo Odoni, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I am very sorry to read about your disappointment. As you can see from all my reviews, I never have dissatisfied clients. The suite-apartments are perfect for those who don't want to be forced to have all the meals in the restaurants. Probably you should have chosen the B&B part of the Palace if you didn't need the kitchen. I would have been happy to suggest you this possibility if you had explained that breakfast was so important for you. All the clients have different kind of needs and expectations and I am always pleased to suggest the best accomodation according to their needs.
I am also sorry I didn't have the chance to see you, but the telephone in the apartment has a direct free line to my mobile, so basically I am reachable 24 hours!
The steps of the Palace are mentioned in all the reviews; it's an ancient historical building and the gothic stairs are part of its uniqueness, of course, if you like this kind. And probably it was not the style you like and I am sorry for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to a cruise and it lived up to its high ratings. Easy walking distance from Piazza Roma, and hotel staff made contact with us in advance to check arrival time.. Our apartment was lovely - spotlessly clean, good air con, 1 double bedroom with option for additional single, plus separate area with twin beds and TV. Kitchenette was well equipped and we bought lovely pastries and juice at the bakery a few doors away.for breakfast.
Excellent retaurant (Ribot) also available for breakfast at 8 euro a head and we had a lovely meal in their courtyard dining area on our second night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23031961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
#43 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#13 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia
San Marco
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#26 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Palazzo Odoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Odoni

Address: Santa Croce, 151 | Fondamenta Minotto, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Venice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner, Mr Michele Giangreco, welcomes you to his prestigious XV century gothic Venetian Palace belonging to his family for 5 generations.Enjoy the true atmosphere of Venice in the luxury apartments still retaining a nostalgic charm.Feel home at Residence Palazzo Odoni...The real Venice awaits youWe offer a unique experience both for those that have already visited Venice, or for those visiting for the first time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Palazzo Odoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Odoni Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing