We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marvelous suprise!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Palazzo Odoni

Save Saved
You added Residence Palazzo Odoni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Palazzo Odoni
Santa Croce, 151 | Fondamenta Minotto, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #28 of 382 Hotels in Venice
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“marvelous suprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had reserved at Palazzo Odoni and then as there were four of us we were offered the chance to stay in a private apartment Michele and Emma manage. What a wonderful surprise. A beautifully equipped two bedroom apartment for less money than the hotel and located right near the Academie. From the moment we arrived Emma and Michele were the most gracious hosts. They even dried our laundry. We would definitely recommend this option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    72
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
169
108
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My self and my partner stayed at Palazzo Odoni Residence bewteen 1st March 2013 - 5th March 2013 as a birthday treat from my partner to me. Wow what a birthday present Venice and Palazzo Odoni were. From the initial booking process to arriving and finally (and sadly) leaving the owner Michele and his wife Ema were friendly and ultra helpful but also professional.
On arrival at Marco Polo airport we got the aerobus No 5 to Piazzale Roma. I had pre-booked a multi day travel pass online which I collected at an automated machine at the airport - very very easy. The bus stops at the airport were clearly marked and easy to find. This dropped us at Piazzale Roma and with the directions provided by Ema and we'd looked it up on Google Earth prior to arrival we found Palazzo Odoni very easily - not bad considering we both have a lousy sense of direction. It took us under 10 mins with suitcases and though you do have to go up and down some steps on the bridges was not a difficult journey.
On arriving at Palazzo Odoni and entering the courtyard through the main front door (just on Canal Gaffaro) it was just as beautiful as the online photos - took my breath away. The courtyard setting is really gorgeous and even more so at night when they put candles out on the steps...... truly gorgeous and so romantic.
Michele came out to greet us by our first names and helped us up the stairs with our luggage - a really nice personal touch.
Michele and Ema had given us the Caravaggio suite at a very reasonable price. The suite is stunning with views over the Gaffaro Canal from both the bedroom and the living/dining/kitchen room. Beautiful high ceilings, huge spacious rooms and decorated in traditional Venetian style with beautiful chandeliers in both rooms. The bedroom was just stunning with a gorgeous canopy over the king sized comfy bed and plenty of storage/wardrobe/chest of drawer space for a short stay.
The kitchen/dining/living room was also huge with a sofa and tv (if you really want to look at TV whilst in Venice..!!) a good sized dining table and kitchenette area with hob, microwave,kettle, fridge, freezer and sufficient crockery, glasses etc for a short stay. Also in this room was a small safe located in the dresser. Big enough to safely secure your spare cash, passports and maybe a small camera in. Not big enough for storing say a laptop or large camera.
Bathroom was more than adequate with a wc, corner shaped bath with shower and all towels provided. Also some miniature toiletries provided.
The wifi coverage was a bit patchy and I had to ask for the router to be reset on a few occasions but this was done with no complaints and also this is free - not something that is offered in all establishments.
As it was my birthday whilst we were there we came back on the day of my birthday to find birthday greetings from Michele & Ema along with a bottle of Prosecco and glasses beautifully presented in a decorative basket left on the table. Thank you.......
On the last night there was had to move to the next door apartment (Tiziano) - we had agreed to this prior to arrival as Caravaggio had been booked for this night. This was not a problem and we had everything moved and were still out and about by 11am enjoying our last day in Venice. Tiziano has a different layout to Caravaggio - you enter onto a small kitchen area with a window overlooking the back of the building and the top of a nearby church. There is a huge living room with yet another beautiful chandelier and decorated again in traditional Venetian style. This also looks over the Gaffaro Canal. The bedroom and bathroom in Tiziano were up a pretty steep set of stairs which could be a problem if you have mobility issues. The bedroom is small but adequate with a double/king sized bed and small wardrobe and a side view window. The bathroom has a corner bath/shower/wc. Tiziano was also a gorgeous apartment but maybe not quite as gorgeous as Caravaggio because of the stairs and smaller bedroom.
There was very little noise at night so you're not disturbed by hoards of passing tourists and it was lovely in the mornings to watch the comings and goings on the canal and people passing by.
The location of Palazzo Odoni is great as it is only a very short walk from Piazzale Roma which is a main transport hub for buses and the water buses (Vaporetto).
We took full advantage of our multi day passes to use the Vaporetto for getting around - only one stop down on the No 1 Vaporetto is the main train station. I highly recommend taking the No 1 vaporetto as it travels the entire length of the Grand Canal and if you have never been before (as we hadn't) is a fantastic way to see Venice and get your bearings.
Just by the Vaporetto stop is a Co-Op supermarket where you can stock up on your essentials for your stay.
Venice was everything I had hoped for and along with Palazzo Odoni completely exceeded my expectations. We were very sad to leave both Palazzo Odoni and Venice.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Palazzo Odoni as a fabulous place to stay whilst visiting Venice and Michele & Ema were very welcoming hosts. I can't wait to return to Venice and hope to stay at Palazzo Odoni again.

Room Tip: Caravaggio is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My family of four needed a well-located, clean, reasonably priced hotel in Venice. This place far surpassed our expectations. It is absolutely lovely - quiet, spacious apartments decorated in Venetian style - glazed walls, paintings of Venice, traditional furniture. We felt very welcomed and comfortable. Aside from being charming, it is very well located - a short walk from the bus and train stations for easy entry/exit with luggage. Some very good places to eat nearby too. Do not hesitate to stay here - absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've stayed in many places in Venice from B&Bs to the Danieli and we've not really found anywhere we've thought both the accommodation and the price were right for a return visit until the Residence Palazzo Odoni. The owner was friendly and helpful. The Coop supermarket, just behind the bus station, was great for supplies of tea/coffee and breakfast. The little kitchen with two rings, microwave, fridge and kettle was more than adequate. What really sold it for us was the huge living area which was beautifully Venetian ie mildly tatty but simply lovely. Three sofa's easily fit and a big dining table. One of the sofa's turned into a bed for our teenage son (which he said was comfy) and the curtains that partitioned the room afforded the right levels of privacy. I'm guessing at least one of the other sofa's turned into a bed too. Upstairs our small double bedroom was nice and clean with a good wardrobe and next door a good bathroom with jacuzzi bath.

The view of the canal was a lovely bonus. It's a nice area and hugely convenient for the bus and train station if you want to travel further afield. We always get a 5 day (boat) bus ticket so getting around Venice is not a problem - both Rialto & St. Marks are a few bus stops away so accessible but being here means local restaurants are cheaper and frankly more interesting.

Downsides ... the stairs up to the apartments are steep. The stairs in the apartment were steep too - this isn't the apartment for you if you have a mobility impairment. But then given Venice is a city of bridges and steps if you're able to get around Venice you can easily navigate these stairs.

All in all a lovely apartment, nice owner and a good price too. Thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent 4 nights in the Residence Palazzo Odoni with our 2 kids aged 7 and 9 in April 2013 in an apartment.

Service/accommodation: Michele (the Residence manager) was there on the first morning to accommodate us and was always available to answer our different requests, even if he doesn’t live on site. Michele's wife was also very kind when we had to organize a taxi transfer to Murano (included in the price of the room). To illustrate their sense of hospitality, Michele lent us rain boots as we had to face “acqua alta” (flood) on the first day - a special experience for tourists but a nightmare for Venice as water is literally going everywhere. Hope a robust solution will soon be met for the Venetian to avoid those situations. Globally, we felt very welcome at the Residence.

Location: The Palazzo is located in a very nice neighborhood,5 minutes from the Piazzale Roma and also 5 minutes from the Basilica Santa Maria Dei Frari, it is away from tourist flow but very convenient to join the centre (you can catch the Vaporetto at the San Toma station). The neighbourhood is really nice as not being "touristic" while close to everything. You enter into the Palazzo through a very nice courtyard that make you feel a little bit like a Venetian.

Room/flat: our flat consisted in a one bedroom and one living room, including a kitchen and a large table in the middle of the living room, which was very convenient. Kitchen was well equipped and daily service includes washing dishes. Bathroom was a little bit small and old fashion even if the bath was equipped with Jacuzzi. The atmosphere is pretty "Venetian vintage" with some beautiful wood furnitures, everything is very clean. We are used to go to much modern and luxury places but all in all we found the Residence very practical and charming. It is to notice that the place is also very quiet at night. There is no breakfast but you can go to a restaurant that has an arrangement with the Residence, breakfast is 5 EUR and consists in a very simple buffet. We went there 2 times and we found then a very good bakery near the hotel ("Barozzi"): lot of good and fresh things you can take back to the Residence and enjoy a royal breakfast in your flat, that was our preferred solution.
To summarize, we wanted something special in Venice and we found it in the Palazzo. I would specially recommend this place for family, as the flat is very practical and you feel welcome.

Near to the Palazzo, go to the “Osteria ae Cravate”, an excellent and typical trattoria (it is preferable to book), and buy Italian and Venezian bakeries at “Barozzi”. If you want to buy beautiful masks, go to "Marega", there are 2 shops nearly.

It was our third time in Venice and we were a little bit selective in our visit but things not to miss in Venice are Palazzo Ducale, Piazza San Marco, Santa Maria Dei Frari, Museum Correr, La Giudecca and San Maggiore Campanile, a visit of la Fenice plus of course getting lost at night in the small streets as you will then fell all the magical of this fantastic city ! Do not hesitate to buy a pass to take the Vaporetto, this is very convenient and in the same time a very nice way to always enjoy exceptional views of the city. Get a museum pass to avoid the queue in Palazzo Ducale and a “skip the line ticket” for the Basilica San Marco, both can be purchased in advance on internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Venice and staying at Palazzo Odoni. We had the suite for four which was very well appointed and modern. Extremely professionally run and the included breakfast was excellent. The locality was also very good being a short walk to Roma Piazza and then to all the main attractions. It suited us because it was a lot quieter than high tourist areas. There are many local restaurants and the help from the owners was great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Palazzo Odoni, and truly loved being away from all the tourists.The Palazzo is very close to all the attractions, in fact we walked all the way to St Marco, but it was lovely to go back to such peace and calm afterwards!
Our room faced the canal and some very old buildings, it was picturesque! The room was enormous, and so clean! It was nice to be able to make a big fry up in the morning as we really felt at home.e
We would recommend Palazzo Odoni to anyone wishing to really feel like one of the locals and to experience some amazing peace!!!

Room Tip: If you deal with Signor Giangreco and explain your needs, he will choose the perfect room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Palazzo Odoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Odoni

Address: Santa Croce, 151 | Fondamenta Minotto, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Venice
#17 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#30 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner, Mr Michele Giangreco, welcomes you to his prestigious XV century gothic Venetian Palace belonging to his family for 5 generations.Enjoy the true atmosphere of Venice in the luxury apartments still retaining a nostalgic charm.Feel home at Residence Palazzo Odoni...the real Venice awaits youWe offer a unique experience both for those that have already visited Venice, or for those visiting for the first time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Palazzo Odoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Odoni Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Palazzo Odoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.