We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Come True While Staying in Residence Palazzo Odoni Caravaggio Apartment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Palazzo Odoni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Residence Palazzo Odoni to your Saves list
Residence Palazzo Odoni
Santa Croce, 151 | Fondamenta Minotto, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Clinton, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dream Come True While Staying in Residence Palazzo Odoni Caravaggio Apartment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

An “I can’t believe we’re here!” moment turned into a “dream come true!” Venice visit while enjoying this Residence Palazzo Odoni luxury apartment overlooking the canal May 28-30, 2012, a perfect time to experience Venice. This was it! We were so excited to stay in the beautiful Caravaggio suite, so elegantly furnished and decorated in a Venetian theme. From the cozy courtyard entrance, with flowers and greenery and candlelit at night, to the “wow factor” entering the lobby and apartment (have to go up two flights of stairs), to the large tub, kitchenette and living area, to the spacious king and single bedroom with the window and small balcony overlooking the pretty aqua canal, it was the perfect place for the three of us to rest after long day hikes to all the popular places. Michael and Emanuela were the greatest hosts, so welcoming, warm and friendly. Being able to roll our suitcases a short distance from the parking garage to the apartment was important to me (study their map). My expectations were high and the Giangreco’s still exceeded them!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    74
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
172
114
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia-DF
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

PROS:
Palazzo Odoni stays in a historic building, renewed inside, in the Santa Croce region, strategically situated right two bridges away from the Piazzalle Roma and the Santa Lucia Train Station, with easy and quick access in and out of Venice by foot (as soon as you reach the city by car or train) and sorrounded by good restaurants. The building has a beautiful patio and a charming atmosphere, the decoration is also cosy, the rooms have a good size (considering the italian standard for historical buildings) and has a spacious bathroom with a good shower. There is cable TV but with limited channels in english, french and german (however, in Venice you don´t need TV more than to whatch the news). The staff is excellent, well trained, sympathetic and helpful. The breakfast is one of the best features of the Hotel, with fruits, natural homemade yorgut, integral items, eggs, fresh juices, a variety breads, pastries (we had the best brioche/croissant of the trip) cheese, salami, ham, and capuccino!

CONS:
As expected and based on other comments, there is no elevator, so be prepared to face two stories of stairs if you bring heavy luggage (but the front desk helped us to go up with them). If you go on October and November (like us) be prepared, because it is period of high tides in Venice and the Hotel is located in the lower region that may flood (we faced about 30cm of water on our legs because of it in the street, so we have to use waterproof boots to leave the hotel, but we heard that this year it was the most critical for Venice). Because of the floods, you may expect some stink coming from the bathrooms, but this happens in all places affected by the floods (like restaurants, was we noticed). Also, the walls are thin, so you can hear noise from the neighboors (if the other guests are not well educated).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I'm surprised there is no reivew for this apt. Nevertheless, we made a booking for 2 nights last nov. We travelled with 2 young children. The apt was in a very convenient location. From the train station / bus station (if arriving from airport), you can walk to the apt. This is easy as i cannot imagine taking the ferry with luggage. The apt is nice, as shown in the pictures. I really love the courtyard at night, as it really looks lovely . You can also easily walk to the main sights. While walking back to our apt, we saw many people peering through the windows to see the courtyard. In the morning as you walk out of the apt, you can see gondolas along the canal. The kids especially love the whirlpool bath. We had a greate time here and would not hesitate to recommend this apt. Booking was easy and fast through email. Thanks for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I spent hours searching the internet for a really reasonably priced but stylish self catering accommodation, and stumbled across Residence Palazzo Odoni. They made us very welcome with honeymoon balloons and wine on arrival (!!) to the room which looked out over a beautiful canal. Very comfortable bed and stylish decor. It's best bonus was that it was a short walk from the train station and we had loads of bags and not so much cash for expensive water taxi's - so this helped us greatly. Very nice hosts, would heartily recommend, and we even took a gondola ride from right outside the Residence.

  • Liked — Views and the host
  • Disliked — Very limited cooking space... tricky to put 2 pans on at the same time!
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had the 'Caneletto' apartment and was great for the two of us. The location is very good - near the bus station and the vaporetti stops (but not too near) and away from the main tourist areas so we felt we were living in the real Venice. The apartment was clean and comfortable, but it's up lots of stairs so may not be good for some people. Michele was very helpful, going the extra mile (well a few hundred yards) lending us rubber boots and carrying our luggage on our last day when there were floods.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Access from the train or bus station is good, not to far and is handy to the ferries.
We took the bus from the airport (6 euros) which made getting to the apartments very easy and cheap.
Although we booked a two bedroom apartment (still discussing that with our travel agent) we got a single bedroom.In the end the couch was very good to sleep on and it didn't become a problem.
Service was excellent and the staff most helpful.
Clean and tidy with plenty of
I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Staying at the Palazzo Odoni was like having one's very own apartment to come back to each night. The entry way was candle lit and felt warm and inviting. The apartment was furnished with items that felt like going back a bit in time. The location was quiet and close to the train station and the Grand Canal, but felt secluded from the hustle and bustle of both. And finally, Michele was a gracious host. When we return, we will certainly book early to ensure our stay here. Ciao.

Room Tip: Book early for a canal side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Palazzo Odoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Odoni

Address: Santa Croce, 151 | Fondamenta Minotto, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Venice
#21 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#32 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner, Mr Michele Giangreco, welcomes you to his prestigious XV century gothic Venetian Palace belonging to his family for 5 generations.Enjoy the true atmosphere of Venice in the luxury apartments still retaining a nostalgic charm.Feel home at Residence Palazzo Odoni...the real Venice awaits youWe offer a unique experience both for those that have already visited Venice, or for those visiting for the first time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Palazzo Odoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Odoni Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Palazzo Odoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.