We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Charming Stay in an Amazing historic Building in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Palazzo Odoni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Residence Palazzo Odoni to your Saves list
Residence Palazzo Odoni
Santa Croce, 151 | Fondamenta Minotto, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Waterloo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Elegant and Charming Stay in an Amazing historic Building in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

My sister and I, along with our partners started a 3 week European vacation in Vienna in April and May. We wanted to keep costs down and wanted to be immersed in all cultural experiences of all cities and made all arrangements on line using trip advisor as a guide. After a night in Vienna, we took a train to Venice and Residence Palazzo Odoni was exactly what we wanted and MORE.
We walked from the train station and although we got lost, the locals knew the residence and gave great directions. Although it is close to the train station, it is far enough so that you get immersed in the Venetian life style from the start.
With a very unpretentious gate, you ring the door bell and Michele greets you and leads you through the most amazing courtyard. The staircase leads you into a building that is what you imagine a 5th generation Venice villa.
Our apartment was a large one bedroom unit with a living area that could be closed into another sleeping area with a large curtain. There was a nice kitchen with a large table and a huge modern bathroom with a jacuzzi tub/shower and bidet. The decor was again what you would expect of an antique building, and yet with all modern amenities and very clean.
At night candles lined the courtyard and the staircase creating an absolutely romantic setting.
Whenever we opened the gate to enter or leave the apartment, people outside would look in with the same awe we felt when we arrived. The apartment is on a canal within close walking distance to all Venice has to offer. Getting lost in the wonderful streets and canals and finding hidden gems is something that must be experienced by anyone travelling to Venice and Residence Palazzo Odoni is the perfect base.
Michele & Emanuela Giangreco are exactly the type of hosts you would expect from 5th generation residence in Venice - cultured, classy, speaking excellent English with the perfect Italian style.
Thank you both for the excellent start to our European adventure. We hope we can return some day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    74
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
172
114
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We were celebrating an important anniversary, and wanted somewhere quiet, comfortable and without the hassle of 'popular' hotels. This fits the bill entirely. Michele and Emanuela could not have been more welcoming and went far out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Their English was fluent.

The Residence is a short walk away from the car park/train terminal, but far enough that it was lovely and quiet. The views from the windows were sublime.

The rooms - we had an apartment - were very large and comfortable. The only down point - and this is a personal thing - was that the bed was a tad hard for my aging back. The maid came in every day to clean and tidy up. There was a whirlpool bath and a good shower. Everything was sparkling clean.

We had the option of shutters and windows open, to listen to the day and nightlife of a backstreet canal in Venice. However, when both were closed, the room was almost completely silent.

I saw a criticism of the access from the street in a previous review. Yes, there are a number of steps to get to reception, and yes they are quite steep. However, if you are staying at a hotel, away from the main 'bustle' of the touristy centre, you will have to walk over many bridges. We are in our late fifties, and managed perfectly well, and feel much fitter because of the experience.

St Marks Square is about 25 minutes walk through some wonderful streets, The main Pallatzo Roma Vaporetto stop is 5 minutes walk away giving access to anywhere else you want to go.

If this is sounds like an advertisement, it's not. We have no connection with the hotel. We just had an absolutely super week, with excellent but unobtrusive service.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I was trying to get an apartment in Venice that was romantic and had some sort of outdoor space, either a garden or a balcony. Several of the places that I tried for were not available. But I was impressed about what people said about the Palazzo Odoni. They were right. While there was no balcony, we could open up the large double windows and hear music from the gondolas in the canal right outside our window. We toasted the musicians with our glasses of wine. The price of the apartment was much less than the others I had sought. We were very happy to spend our week in Venice here. We would gladly return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herford, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Lovely, spacious apartment, very comfortable and in a great location. Our rooms overlooked the canal which provided good entertainment. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d.c.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

first time we got in, i had trepidation when i was walking up the steps, but when we got to the apartment, it turned into a huge delightful surprise. we had a very spacious apartment with tall ceilings, chandeliers, nice curtains, and furniture to let you experience life in venice. it reminded me of one of those furnished rooms on display at the metropolitan museum, only this time, you get to sleep in one! plus my young son enjoyed watching people walk up and down the canal, he was even able to identify the different sounds; luggage, high heels,...great place!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This was an amazing place - the suites are wonderfully decorated - with good taste. apts are in walking distance of train station and close to nearby attractions and the grand canal. the normal rooms are just as good as the canal view so try to get one of these if you can - much cheaper. wonderful host. great place to set up quickly and explore. having a kitchen is great for cooking in one night if you stay a few days.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The department is near train station. There is a kitchen that you may cook by yourself. The place is clean. The ower of place is nice and can speak English. Although the room is not modern, you can have experience to stay with 500 year house.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Palazzo Odoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Odoni

Address: Santa Croce, 151 | Fondamenta Minotto, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Venice
#20 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner, Mr Michele Giangreco, welcomes you to his prestigious XV century gothic Venetian Palace belonging to his family for 5 generations.Enjoy the true atmosphere of Venice in the luxury apartments still retaining a nostalgic charm.Feel home at Residence Palazzo Odoni...the real Venice awaits youWe offer a unique experience both for those that have already visited Venice, or for those visiting for the first time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Palazzo Odoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Odoni Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Palazzo Odoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.