We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real palazzo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce, San Stae, 2070, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a real palazzo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

a perfect location just steps away from the st.stae stop. the rooms under roof are cozy and special, the personal is very friendly and helpful. during aqua alta, they guided us to the staff entrance, which was not flooded.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    162
    54
    17
    8
See reviews for
64
338
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This beautiful hotel is off the beaten path, away from the tourist areas but within walking distance of any attraction you want to see as it is on the main island. Is it located right next to a taxi wharf.
The boat from the airport will drop you at the door to the Grand Canal and you will enter a gracious and lovely lobby. Breakfast was served in a beautiful room and was delicious. There is a small garden in a walled area leading to one of the many back alleys in Venice. We had a "standard" room which was large and well furnished. The bathroom was also large with granite countertops and very lovely. Only problem was we had only one window which was a large skylight facing the sky.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Booked this thru a Telegraph offer for November. We had a superior room on fourth floor overlooking the San Stae square and boat stop. Bit noisy but bearable and good to watch the comings and goings on the Grand Canal also of course good to get on the Vaporetto from there.

Only negatives are having to pay for Wifi (in this day and age?) and the free water taxi to Murano. Should have known better. It takes you straight to waterside door of one "factory" where you get a short demo of glass blowing then tour round loads of glass products. You are a bit stuck there as only way out seems to be via their taxi back to the Faro lighthouse stop. We wasted over 20 mins waiting for a taxi. Also not convinced the prices and "discount" at the factory are good and they don't come with the Murano glass certification. Probably better prices elsewhere.

Breakfast is pretty good as you can have eggs, bacon and sausage as well as very tasty chocolate croissants and proper Twinings breakfast tea.

Having tea making facilities in room would be a good plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My dream come true of staying in a Palazzo on the Grand Canal. Great customer service, very clean and comfortable. The rooms are modern and cool in a sort of yacht kind of way. Highly recommend this as a dream Venice destination.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petd0c
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here at the Palazzo Giovanelli. The location is ideal...tucked away from the crowds but central enough to be close to the main attractions. The garden and lobby is beautiful. The bar is friendly and has a nice warm atmosphere. The staff is attentive and welcoming. Our room was on the Grand Canal and was very nice with all the comforts of home. Breakfast was excellent! Highly recommend. Great value for Venice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wife and I are expecting our first baby so we decided to take one more trip. We wanted something on the water, something with history and something away from the crowds but close enough to walk to main areas. Well we found it here at the Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli. We stayed in room 410 which is a junior suite and it was very nice. We had views of the Grand Canal and the church next door. Beds are a little hard but better than most that we have stayed at in Europe. The air conditioner worked great and had great water pressure too. The service was outstanding and they are eager to help. It is right next door to the water bus area which is really nice after a long day of walking. Behind the hotel are some "local spots" and nice little shops. We really enjoyed our time here. However, the breakfast wasn't great but it was good.

I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Corner Junior Suite room 410 is really nice. It was roomy and had 3 windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our stay was short, only one night, but the staff was very gracious and helpful. The location was great - close to shops, and the walk to St Marks via The Rialto Bridge gave a wonderful feel of Venice. The Vaporetto Station just out the door was so convenient and we would have loved a longer stay. Our room was quite small, but the bellman offered a lounge to relax in that was just lovely. Travelling with my 2 daughters for their first trip to Venice - this was a perfect experience.

Room Tip: We loved the windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli

Address: Santa Croce, San Stae, 2070, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli is located in the historic centre of Venice, enjoying the magnificent atmosphere and offering its guest private , quiet rooms, where a gentle stillness is interrupted only by the passing of gondolas and the flow of water in the canals. Elegant and romantic, 4 star Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli in Venice overlooks the Gran canal, enclosed between the splendid Church of san Stae and Ca’ Pesaro, with suites facing its green gardens and a waterside door to receive guests. The successful mix of decorations, in a perfect balance between modern and traditional, gives Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli an inviting and welcoming aspect, in tune with the impeccable quality of the service of a warm, highly professional and multilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.