We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In search of homemade gelato” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Alaska

Gelateria Alaska
Calle Larga dei Bari, 1159 | Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)
+39-041-715211
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 50 Ice Cream in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Santa Croce
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“In search of homemade gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We read about this place in "Eat Venice", a foodies' guide to Venice, and set out to find it after dinner. (It's east of the train station, across the bridge in front of the station; follow the per Rialto signs and you will stumble on it, just past one of the small piazzas.) It's amusing to read the reviews with such mixed experiences, as this place is the rare one that still makes its own gelato. My partner had half hazelnut cocoa and half banana. The banana was clearly better; the hazelnut was icy with less flavor. I had half pistachio and half tiramisu; both were good, creamy with no icy texture. So go for the creamy choices, and if in doubt, ask to sample.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    11
    14
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I tried gelato at many places, and have had gelato in mant countries outside Italy, and to call this "gelato" is an insult. It was basically crushed ice with some bad flavour, like a snowcone... I had orange, pear and lemon, all had the same terrible consistency and taste. The orange tasted like peel, pear like kernels and lemon was not good either. Too bad, as the owner was sweet old man :-(

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“You scream for Ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Being a fiend for ice cream, I made it a mission to try as many gelato as possible in Venice. Alaska was a regular stop, as the flavours here are unique (celery and salad?!) and subtle too. The chap serving appears to live in his tiny shop as it seemingly never shuts, and was very friendly too politely replying to my terrible Italian. I really liked this ice cream as it was so different to everywhere else and it tastes like natural ingredients which the owner s very proud of, not fake lime green pistachio madness.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How do they come up with these flavors?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I had a celery and ppear cone on my first night in Venice. A large portion for a very reasonable price. The only disappointing thing was the lack of other exciting weird flavors at this time of the night. Still good enough to visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disappointing gelato”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was really looking forward to eating good gelato in Venice. My Italian tour guide told me about Alaska, so my expectation was high. I ordered 3 scoops of gelato, but the portion was so small and it looked so different from the image on the menu. The taste was ok, but I should have gone to other gelateria.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Alaska also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria Alaska, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.