We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pronto Pesce - CLOSED

Pronto Pesce
319 San Polo (Rialto Fish Market, Campo Beccarie) | San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)
+390418220298
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: San Polo
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We found this place while visiting the fish market and had the best lunch (probably the best food period but they're only open for lunch hours) of our trip to Venice. There were so many appetizing options at the counter that we couldn't decide where to start so the woman offered to make us a sampler plate with tastes of a variety of dishes. After devouring every delicious bite we went back to order larger portions as well as to taste some of the dishes that were not on our plate. Everything was excellent. The prices were quite reasonable. Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    48
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We were having a look around the Fish market when we found this place by chance. We were drooling from the fresh seafoods so we started looking for a place where we can have the freshest of the fresh. The place is only small but it was full to the brim with both locals and tourists. There were only a few tables inside, but then one can take one's food outside. I would liken the servings to like having tapas, which were priced between 2-4 euros. We ordered about 11 different kinds of food. Our bill amounted to 32,50 euros. If fresh seafood is what you are looking for the come to this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Weren't seated, but tried and were convinced!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

After some very bad experiences in Venice's touristic restaurants, we desided to rely on tripadvisor and went there on Saturday. Unfortunately, we didnt make it quite on time as they closed at 3 p.m. We were able to enter the restaurant place nevertheless and take some food to go. So we tried like 8-9 dishes just outside at the Canal and it was just great!
Te QUALITY was great - you could taste their close proximity to the fish market which is there just in front of the restaurant!
It was a bit expencive though in the end, but we knew what we paid for and we enjoyed the food completely!
I would recommend this place definitely!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Follow the Venecians!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We wanted food liked by locals - this was it!
Right opposite Rialto fish market - fresh fish superb cooking simple - wine by the glass - help yourself from the bottle
Don't miss the prawns and scallops
Cash only -no cards - tiny restaurant bit cramped - people waiting to sit down!
Novel experience!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Locals Favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pronto Pesce now only opens of a day and is directly opposite the famous Venice Fish Market a short straight walk after crossing over the Rialto Bridge. It goes without saying that the produce is fresh and is turned into some exquisite (Cicchetti) like morsels. The cafe is compact but very laid back and the counter in front of you displays an array of varied and traditional dishes.
The cost is reasonable considering it is only a short walk from the Grand Canal and its inflated prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pronto Pesce also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pronto Pesce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.