We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Intimate, and Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pronto Pesce - CLOSED

Pronto Pesce
319 San Polo (Rialto Fish Market, Campo Beccarie) | San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Marco)
+390418220298
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: San Marco
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small, Intimate, and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited this lovely place while on a tour of ciccheti bars in Venice. The owner was present (always a good sign) and made sure we had a great experience. Our ciccheti included 3 different plates, all fish-based, as this bar is immediately adjacent to the Rialto fish market, and dishes are determined daily based on what fish is fresh that day. Great taste of Venetian food and culture.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    48
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a really hard time finding this place because their sign is printed out on a piece of paper and displayed in the window. Since it was so difficult to find, we went all out and got a little bit of everything. The girl behind the counter was so helpful... She put together a really tasty combination plate. The seafood is so fresh because the restaurant is right across from the fish market. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh seafood with local charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Pronto Pesce was an outstanding place to drop by and grab some of their fresh seafood risotto. If you want something to drink, you just tell the counter server which wine you would like to drink from and pour yourself (great concept they should bring back to the US). Don't pay until finished eating and drinking and tell the counter server the number of glasses consumed. What a unique local restaurant with so much charm! Don't miss this if you go to Venice. Did I mention great price too??!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood cicchetti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I found this little gem while on a tour with Cecilia (Urban Adventures). I had to come back again to get more food because it was that good. It is easy to find if you know where the Rialto Market is. The chef makes everything based on what the market has to offer and there is no menu, you just point to what you want to eat. If there are brioches, you should definitely try the one with swordfish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marketside seafood cicchetti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Sought this out for a mid-morning bite after reading the overwhelmingly positive TripAdvisor reviews; we weren't disappointed. Besides tasty sardines and a yummy riceball we shared a delicious dish that reminded us a bit of moussaka made with fish - really wish we'd made a note of the name. Am only sorry that we weren't hungry enough to try more of the choices available; the salmon brochette and the anchovies with red pepper were enticing but we were stuffed. Other reviewers are correct in saying that it's super-easy to miss this tiny place, so if you're planning a visit, make sure you know the address/location. The person (owner?) behind the counter was happy to explain the various dishes, despite being kept very busy by the stream of customers - a healthy mix of tourists and locals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pronto Pesce also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pronto Pesce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.