We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal to your Saves list
Hotel Canal
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Santa Croce 553, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #255 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Villach, Austria
1 review
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel in December. The best thing is the location, just in the middle of shopping areas. It is 2 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma ( main bus and boat terminal) and 5 minutes from th etrain station. Our room was confortable and the bathroom was the same. breakfast was continental but it offered fruit jouce, cereals, eggs, cakes and..... Thanks to Paolo, he is a very efficient and friendly member of the staff. Definately recommended

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    191
    192
    93
    64
See reviews for
142
314
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Villach, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel Canal in venice for 4 days with my wife. This is the best hotel for quality/price that I found. The hotel was clean and our room was a reasonable size. Breakfast was served buffett style.
Good location right on the Grand canal, handy for all main " vaporetto" ( waterbus) stops. Staff was more than friendly and accomodating. I will stay there if ever in Venice again

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is located in front of train station and is easy to find. This hotel isn't luxurious but it is clean and cheap. If you don't want to pay much money for hotel and can stand a feeling of the last century, it's a great place. I recomend it as a budget hotel in great location.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival at 11.30pm, it was really easy to find after getting a bus from the airport to Venice itself, walking in the smell of stale damp water was quite overwhelming but we thought "it is on the Grand Canal so they might be subject to a bit of flooding occasionally. We found the staff not very welcoming but can forgive this at this time of the evening. Paying your tourist tax up front was a new thing too as in Rome they took it at the end of your stay with any additions from the mini bar etc.
When we got to the room we were kind of stunned, we paid an extra 10 pound for a canal view which was good, windows were soundproofed well for traffic noise on the water but the room was tiny, no coffee or tea facilities in the room at all, although there was an overpriced mini bar. Towels and sheets were immaculate, and room although looking like something from a Jumble sale was clean.... The Bathroom however was not the best. The taps, shower hoses were covered in scale and just grimy, the tiles and sealant was obviously just splattered on to repair. On the whole the hotel is in serious need of updating big time. We also had an issue when my wife had a bath and let the water out that it and perhaps 4 years of other stuff came up out a drain on the bathroom floor and flooded the bathroom to which we just used the towels to mop it up and put in the bath. We did think to complain but decided no point as we were heading away next day. The breakfast is very continental but not of a good standard and we felt lacking in items compared to other hotels we have been at in Italy. All in all quaint but not nice I'm afraid and i would avoid if you can, i am sure there are better round about. I was a bit stunned that wifi has to be paid for, 10 euros for 12 hours, although you can log off and keep time for the next day etc.

Room Tip: Get another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Positives first:
Clean sheets, fluffy white towels, great location ( close to bus & train station and vaporetto stop ), staff quite friendly and guests were allowed to leave luggage all day after check out at 11. Clean.

Other:
Breakfast very basic and go early if you want to bag a croissant! Coffee cold and looked like it was straight out of the canal. We left and had breakfast somewhere else on both days.
Building is very old and hotel in general is in desperate need of an upgrade. Room small and cell-like..dark, itchy scratchy blanket on bed. As long as you accept that it is somewhere convenient to lay your head down for the night you wont be too disappointed. But I would say more a 2 star than a 3 star.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

The hotel was in a great location. The staff were good - not overly friendly or unfriendly in any way. The room was beautiful. The breakfast was good too. I suppose my only qualm was the lack of power outlets in the room but this is due to the building being old and probably listed. At any rate. Very good experience over all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This hotel is not luxurious by any means, but totally adequate and well situated to access and explore the beautiful city of venice, directly across from the valpretto making it simple to explore all that venice has to offer, very easy to find from the square where the airport bus drops you and the directions they provide are very good, adequate breakfast and room was clean, the desk clerks were helpful, would stay there again simply because of its location.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view, we didn't and I regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal

Address: Santa Croce 553, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.