We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal to your Saves list
Hotel Canal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 553, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #307 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Love this hotel, right on Grand Hotel. This is the second time I have stayed in this Hotel. Great location. This hotel is easy walking distance to restaurant and shops. The staff are helpful for any questions you may have, I would be happy to visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: These rooms are fairly small. It is worth paying the extra for canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    206
    221
    100
    66
See reviews for
150
335
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

By far the worst hotel ever! First, it's over-priced. We paid 100 Euros per night for a room that it's not worth 30 Euros even. Second, the rooms are so unclean. Third, the staff is extremely rude and unwelcoming. We checked if we can cancel the reservation and move to another hotel but they didn't accept. Oh and seriously 3 Euros for an hour of Wi-Fi?! What kind of a rip-off is that?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlcanalvenezia, Direttore at Hotel Canal, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Mrs Elcymez ( DISASTROUS) and Mr. Ramies ( NEEDS RENOVATION AND OVER-PRICED), thank you for your reviews to which, since they refer to the same stay and room, we take the liberty of answering with a single reply.
We feel we need to repeat also here on Tripadvisor (thank you for having us here!) what we had already explained when you checked in:
1)      You did book and paid for a single room even though one extra person showed up!
2)      It wasn’t possible to cancel the booking as the reservation was made with Expedia.com and not directly with us; furthermore, Expedia.com did not allow to cancel your booking as, according to their cancellation policy, it was too late to cancel without penalty.
3)      As we were fully booked ( but could not obviously leave you roomless) and since our single rooms have a French double bed, we let you both stay in the reserved room charging you an extra 7 Euro per night for the second person’s breakfast  
We accommodated one extra guest almost for free but unfortunately it feels like all you want is a payback for not being able to cancel the reservation!
Last but not least, we take the opportunity to remind you that 1 hour on the internet costs 3 Euro (as well displayed on the notice at the concierge) and NOT 4 Euro as you stated.
Regards
Hotel canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

100 euros a night for a hotel that is worth 30 to 40 euros a night.
No WiFi and they charge 4 Euros/30 minutes!
Rooms are old and needs renovation, feels like a hundred years old (not in a good way)
Great location., which is the only good thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlcanalvenezia, Direttore at Hotel Canal, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Mrs Elcymez ( DISASTROUS) and Mr. Ramies ( NEEDS RENOVATION AND OVER-PRICED), thank you for your reviews to which, since they refer to the same stay and room, we take the liberty of answering with a single reply.
We feel we need to repeat also here on Tripadvisor (thank you for having us here!) what we had already explained when you checked in:
1) You did book and paid for a single room even though one extra person showed up!
2) It wasn’t possible to cancel the booking as the reservation was made with Expedia.com and not directly with us; furthermore, Expedia.com did not allow to cancel your booking as, according to their cancellation policy, it was too late to cancel without penalty.
3) As we were fully booked ( but could not obviously leave you roomless) and since our single rooms have a French double bed, we let you both stay in the reserved room charging you an extra 7 Euro per night for the second person’s breakfast
We accommodated one extra guest almost for free but unfortunately it feels like all you want is a payback for not being able to cancel the reservation!
Last but not least, we take the opportunity to remind you that 1 hour on the internet costs 3 Euro (as well displayed on the notice at the concierge) and NOT 4 Euro as you stated.
Regards
Hotel canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Overall basic room with minimum furniture. We requested one big bed but received two small beds combined. It was not worth what we paid.
Good location 2 min. from the train station but far from piazza san marco.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Location is excellent and the price can't be beat. Beware though, you get what you pay for. The service is appalling. The staff is rude and pretty much ignores you until they feel like talking to you. As an example, while the front desk staff was checking us out of our room, I tried to ask him how I might get to the bus stop. He cut me off, raised his voice and said "wait until I'm finished!" Apparently you shouldn't try to get the front office staff to do two things at once. I think if you're willing to pay a little more for good service, do it. If you don't mind "slumming it," this will get the job done.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We just want a cheap room with a canal view. If you want the same it's enough. The receptionists were kind but the staff at the breakfast room was so rude and make you feel you're someone that disturbs her. The bathroom was so dirty. The bed was clean but it slips.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed 2nights in hotel Canal, their rooms are well designed,having a fine wiev but the only problem is in rooms they dont have a plug. I didnt charge my phone in 2days and this is very bad because I didnt contact with my husband during my last days in Venice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlcanalvenezia, Direttore at Hotel Canal, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review and for having written that the hotel has their "rooms are well designed, having a fine wiev". I'm sorry about the plugs but it seems impossible that you didn't find them in the room because in every room there are 5 sockets: 1 next to each table, 2 behind the tv and minibar and 1 inside bathroom.
To recharge your phone you could ask the front desk that would definitely help. All the staff of the Hotel Canal and me we are sorry for this unexpected
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal

Address: Santa Croce 553, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.