We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice small hotel, with excellent location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canal to your Saves list
Hotel Canal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 553, 30135 Venice, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice small hotel, with excellent location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a very good experience. Location was our priority and the location of Canal hotel completely satisfied our needs and desires. All in all the hotel contributed to spend a good time in Venice. We would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    206
    221
    100
    66
See reviews for
150
336
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I chose to go to the Canal Hotel again because the experience first time around was pretty good. My disabled friend was well catered for with a first floor room with stairs leading to the nearby dining room. This time we had breakfast 'al fresco' every morning, bar one, and met some very nice people mostly travelling onward by way of cruise ships. Noticeably from New Zealand and Australia.

This end of the Grand Canal with its new glass foot bridge and luxury shops, forms a triangle with the bus station and railway station, all within site of the hotel and vice versa and practically impossible to get lost. No! the hotel did not have a lift, most do not, but that makes no difference to the main point that it is so very well positioned. If you are travelling to Venice for the first time, the Canal Hotel has to be one of the main contenders for perfect location..

I visit Venice most years and never grow tired of it, what is there not to like. If you tell anyone you are going to Venice, the retort is usually it smells, an opinion based on no substance whatsoever and a relic from the dark ages. So with the Famous Venice Film Festival, and Regatta Storica, and fishing in the extremely clean waters you can put them right with the voice of experience and state, "Venice does not smell". Another old chestnut, you cannot drink the water, on the contrary you can and there are drinking fountains all over the city to refill those empty bottles of expensive water. In fact why bother to lumber yourself with bottles, just drink straight from the fountains.

Do not be put off my by anyone, the crowds are part of the fun and there are many quiet venues off the beaten track. No point going to Venice just to be alone unless it is the depth of winter. Best times to visit are no later than mid June and then not until September. My advice is to listen to no one and find out the facts for yourselves.

If you want to compare Venice with then and now, around 1945, there is an excellent film called 'Summer Madness', staring Kathryn Hepburn which says in pictures what must be the many opinions expressed through the ages about the extraordinary City of Venice. Venture further if you have the time. Padua and Verona are not too far away by train.

Room Tip: Rooms are always at a premium in Venice so the only advice I can offer is book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My family had a one night stay before a cruise at Hotel Canal and it was PERFECT. First, it was very close to Piazza Roma so our kids (6 & 9) had no problem walking with their bags to the hotel. Second, the reception was very friendly and efficient. The room was large enough to accomodate four beds and the view over the canal was wonderful. Breakfast was huge and held us till dinner. They held our bags so we could explore Venice before going to the ship. No elevator so keep your bags light and the bathroom is small (like most Euro Hotels) but overall the room was large and clean - this was our 4th trip to Venice and I would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I cannot comprehend that some people found this "hotel" anything other than terrible. The reception area is scruffy and tired with indifferent staff. We had to wait at least 5 minutes before a female receptionist condescended to end a telephone conversation with her mother, while another one was reminiscent of Basil Fawlty. The stair carpet was dirty and certainly not vacuumed during our 2 night stay. The stairs are narrow and steep with no lift or porter to carry bags. Our room was small but adequate but there were knobs missing from the furniture. The bathroom smelt horribly of damp and the shower screen was old with nasty black marks in the corners. However the sheets and towels were clean.
I have nothing against continental breakfast but found the selection of cold meat poor. It consisted of salami ( ok ) and an indistinguishable grey meat which looked awful. No cheese other than processed stuff in foil triangles.
This is the very worst, run down seedy hotel I have ever stayed in and our romantic break in Venice was ruined.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Location: very good for getting around by water or foot
Reception: all friendly and accommodating. Gave us a good recommendation for a restaurant which we enjoyed and was good value. Moved our friends from a basic room (view of a brick wall) to a canal view (113) for a supplement of €15 per night
Rooms: we were in 311, our friends were in 113. The rooms are in what I guess is typical Venetian style which some may think old fashioned. It's Venice, go with it! Also bear in mind that Venice is sinking and is on water so there are cracks and wonky floors in buildings, and they sometimes flood (the reception did, a little, one rainy day at high tide) but they've stood for years and will stay standing. Our room was on the top floor with just one other room. It was a decent size with two windows, full size wardrobe and a king size bed. The bathroom was tiny: I am 5'4 and my knees touched the shower cubicle when sat on the toilet!! Importantly, it was all clean and no cracks/mould others have noted. I don't think our heating worked, or if so, I couldn't figure out how to work it! Our friends' room was smaller, had a lovely canal view, a standard double bed, a cute (tiny) wardrobe but decent size bathroom (with bath). We all (4) managed to get in for prosecco overlooking the canal one evening, which was nice.
Breakfast was fine. Coffee was awful (try one of the coffee shops nearby for a cappuccino instead) but the juice, breads/pastries, fruit (tinned fruit cocktail), teas, sliced meats were all fine. This is breakfast for those who want something to allow space and appetite for visiting a cafe, eating ice cream or having a good lunch not too long after - which was fine by us.
Check out: we checked out at 1530 (room vacated by 1100) so our bags were kept towards the back of the reception room. There isn't a secure room so bear that in mind
Overall I would stay here again, but I would pay the supplement for a canal view (and a bigger bathroom!)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My friend and I just come back from Venice and stayed at the hotel canal for 3 nights. It was such a lovely hotel. Great for the money. Everyone that worked there is so friendly and accommodating! It was clean.location was perfect! Right on the grande canal. The hotel is very traditional, but it all went with the experianance of Venice. I would defiantly go back again. What an amazing trip! Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Small Hotel,good location-5 minutes from Piazzale Roma.The courteous staff.This is a hotel for people with average incomes. Minus the hotel-old furniture in the room.Interior in the old style
but for this style of furniture is too old.
Bath room is very clean, it was really a pleasure to use. Always clean towels, cleaning the room each day occurred.
Wish the hotel managers update the photos on the site because the image and the reality do not match.
Generally pleasant impression left from the hotel.
Perhaps it would choose again this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal

Address: Santa Croce 553, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.