We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Nuova Grotta

Ristorante La Nuova Grotta
Sestiere Castello, 4538, 30122 Venice, Italy
+39 041 724 1018
Improve this listing
Ranked #904 of 1,203 restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

My mother & I were taken such great care of by all the staff. We were greeted by a very friendly & funny fellow (Mimi I think) and encouraged to pick out our own fish from the beautiful selection out front. I was then taken to the kitchen to weigh the Flounder we chose (for 2) it wasn't cheap but what is cheap in Venice!? The food was VERY tasty & the handsome waiter (Michael) made sure we were happy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

31% Recommend
    14
    13
    14
    8
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greenville,sc
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great service Really good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Found this great ristorante during an afternoon walking tour
A canal over from the piazza San Marco. The four of us went back for dinner that night off the ship. The waiters were very friendly, helpfull and entertaining. My wife's caprese salad and home made lasagna
We're excellent. The seafood starter was an excellent variety of-clams,mussels,calamari, and octopus. The fresh pasta and fruit de mar was excellent. The
Desert bar was great. The cake we shared was fantastic. The 98 euro cost including wine dinner and desert was an excellent value for the great food and service. Bon Appetite. This was a real highlight for our evening in

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Double birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent service at this lovely restaurant.We wanted a special meal out to celebrate our birthdays and we were not disappointed.Mimo and Michael served us with beautiful sea bream cooked to perfection delicious!The best fish dish we had in Venice and we had tried other restaurants while we were there. Mimo and Michael made our night very special and they deserve all the praise we will not forget our visit to La Nova Grotta one of our Venice highlights and would recommend it as a little gem to try for any one wanting something a bit special at a reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bait and switch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went into this place because of the very fresh looking fish outside and the man out side said that we could get 5% off and if we did not like the fish we could send it back. We were greeted by a very funny and great waiter. He suggested two dishes each of them for two people each. We got to go out side and pick our own fish from the case. They had sea bass, lobster, squid, shrimp, and flounder all looking very fresh and delicious. I got a tasty plate and the other people got the flounder. The food was very good (the best we had so far in Italy) and everything else was wonderfull too. The fish was tender and amazing. When we got the bill it was 230 euro! the food was wonderfull but maybe not that good! Also at the end we had to remind him of that 5% off. Overall everything was great but be ready for a big bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Under new management - Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

If you are in the San Marco square area, I definitely recommend this restaurant! Chef and staff were very friendly, and very accommodating. First night I stumbled across this place looking for some takeout food (as there was NO WAY I was going to pay what our nearby hotel wanted for food...and everything was flooded at the time due to high tide). Chef Mimo was very friendly, and accommodated my takeout request happily. Pasta dishes were great, so much so that we had lunch again the next day - to the same wait staff and friendly reception. Again, another great meal.

And to those that have complained about the pice - uh, you're in VENICE near the most popular area, you are naturally going to pay more! However, try having a meal at your hotel first, and see what THAT costs you!

This place was very good in our experience....I would give them a chance based on my recommendation.

PS: We are experienced travelers and enjoy (and expect) good food and good friendly service - and can identify a "good vibe" place and a bad one. During our Italy trip we walked in and immediately right back out of MANY ristorantes. This one was a good experience twice in a row. Also note (for Americans in particular), in Italy it is custom to relax and take your time eating - therefore you will usually have to ASK for the check and sometimes for other things you may want at certain times. No big deal, it's just the culture.

Grazie and Ciao!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Nuova Grotta also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante La Nuova Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Nuova Grotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.